East Coast Summer Trip (New York City) Day 9 2005


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
July 11th 2005
Published: February 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day 9!

Its my last day in New York! I can't believe I've made it this far alone! But before I head to Boston I stopped by the Intrepid Air & Space Museum to see some planes and submarines. Afterwards I dashed over to check out Ground Zero and it’s just a big empty space right now. It’s so weird to see it so empty and open. Its huge yet its so small. I can't quite describe it.

I finally made it to the Amtrak station and luckily it was running late again so I was able to get on my train with ease and without having to rush. I headed to Boston and caught glimpses on Connecticut and Rhode Island beaches. I should take a driving tour sometime in the future. I kind of like this area.

Arrived in Boston to meet a friend who's going to let me couch surf for a couple days. Should be fun and waaaaay cheap! Plus he lives close to the metro station so that will work out just great!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

SR-71SR-71
SR-71

The Blackbird has always been one of my favorite aircraft.
World Trade Center SignWorld Trade Center Sign
World Trade Center Sign

Picked up from Ground Zero.
Plane That Hit the World Trade CenterPlane That Hit the World Trade Center
Plane That Hit the World Trade Center

Actual window wreckage from the plane that hit one of the towers. It looks so small.
Ground ZeroGround Zero
Ground Zero

There's a fence that blocks the view of the new construction site.
Cross At Ground ZeroCross At Ground Zero
Cross At Ground Zero

Wreckage in shape of the cross is displayed for all to see.
Ground ZeroGround Zero
Ground Zero

Its just a big empty space that is huge and eerie.


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb