East Coast Summer Trip (New York City) Day 8 2005


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
July 10th 2005
Published: February 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Mummies!Mummies!Mummies!

The Egyptian relics section of the museum went on FOREVER!
Day 8!

I spent all day at The Metropolitan Museum. One could spend a whole week there though! There is so much to see and do. I started off in the Egyptian section and three hours later I realized I had been trying to read every single little info card and it was driving me crazy! So much Egyptian history!

How much of it is just random crap?

Still, it was nice to see. I've always had a fascination with mythology ever since I was young so it was great to see all these relics and historical crap.

I also saw some armor I would fit in! Henry the VIII's armor was awesome and not that fat. I thought he'd be fatter. Still, it was cool seeing a molded belly instead of a molded six-pack one usually sees on armor.

The museum also has an awesome collection art by such greats as Van Gogh, O'Keefe, and Monet. Plus a maze of old furniture.. . . seriously, just furniture.

Oh, and I saw the bed that Claudia and Jamie Kincaid slept in From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Walk Like An EgyptianWalk Like An Egyptian
Walk Like An Egyptian

I know, that was cheesy.
Pharoah!Pharoah!
Pharoah!

I've been fascinated by ancient Egypt since I was a kid.
SphinxSphinx
Sphinx

No riddles here.
Big AtriumBig Atrium
Big Atrium

Egyptian ruins were featured in this room.
Egyptian Ruins with Centuries of GraffitiEgyptian Ruins with Centuries of Graffiti
Egyptian Ruins with Centuries of Graffiti

Seriously, graffiti is an ancient art!
Egyptian RelicEgyptian Relic
Egyptian Relic

There must of been a million relics or more at the Met.
Fat SarcophragusFat Sarcophragus
Fat Sarcophragus

For fat Egyptian?
Henry VIIIHenry VIII
Henry VIII

Even his body armor was chubby.
Knights MarchingKnights Marching
Knights Marching

One of my favorite exhibits at the museum.
Georgia O'KeefeGeorgia O'Keefe
Georgia O'Keefe

Some poeple claim this is really female anatomy.
Van Gogh!Van Gogh!
Van Gogh!

Van Gogh has always been one of my favorites.
MonetMonet
Monet

Cathedrals.
Virgin MaryVirgin Mary
Virgin Mary

This was a nice little set-up.
More Virgin MaryMore Virgin Mary
More Virgin Mary

Religious Art is cool.
Rembrant's Self-PortraitRembrant's Self-Portrait
Rembrant's Self-Portrait

...as the Prodigal Son?
Central Park and ManhattanCentral Park and Manhattan
Central Park and Manhattan

The view from the top of the museum was spectacular.


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb