East Coast Summer Trip (New York City) Day 7 2005


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
July 9th 2005
Published: February 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Central ParkCentral ParkCentral Park

Central Park with the city in the background.
Day 7

It’s been the most action packed day EVER!

I started my morning with a fancy breakfast at a ritzy looking place and then took a walk through Central Park. The park is filled with plenty of nooks and crannies. My favorite place was visiting the Angel Fountain.

Afterwards I went over to the Guggenheim where they didn't allow me to take pictures of any of the art but I saw plenty of Mapplethorp prints anyway!

Then I headed over to the piers to take my cruise around Manhattan. It was a three-hour tour. I got to see the Statue of Liberty and the Brooklyn Bridge up close but the rest of the tour was sort of boring. Too much sun and after a while all the buildings start looking alike. Still the New York Skyline can't be beat!

Needed some fresh art I decided to head to the Museum of Modern Art. I headed straight to Van Gogh's Starry Night and while it was smaller than I thought it still caught my attention.

I stopped by Times Square on my way to the Empire State Building where I stood in line to go
Central Park #2Central Park #2Central Park #2

The Angel Fountain.
in the door, so that I could stand in line to get on the elevator, to go up to stand in line for tickets, to go stand in line to the other elevator. It was ridiculous but glad I did it at least once in my life!

The views were amazing! I was trying to get a two for the price of one deal by staying up until the sun went down so that I could see the city at night. I was soooo tired and there wasn't anywhere to sit!

I got kicked out of the gift shop for sitting on a souvenir display case but I at least made it to nightfall! Yay! I will NEVER do it again though!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Central Park #3Central Park #3
Central Park #3

Closer view of the Angel Fountain.
The Guggenheim MuseumThe Guggenheim Museum
The Guggenheim Museum

View from the bottom floor.
Statue of LibertyStatue of Liberty
Statue of Liberty

We cruised past it on our city cruise.
Brooklyn BridgeBrooklyn Bridge
Brooklyn Bridge

Coolest bridge in the world!
New York City with the Brooklyn BridgeNew York City with the Brooklyn Bridge
New York City with the Brooklyn Bridge

taken from our city cruise.
Museum of Modern ArtMuseum of Modern Art
Museum of Modern Art

james Ensor and his skulls.
MatisseMatisse
Matisse

Bunch of hippies!
Starry Starry NightStarry Starry Night
Starry Starry Night

A dream come true to finally see the real thing!
RosseauRosseau
Rosseau

I hope I spelled his name right!
Times SquareTimes Square
Times Square

The place was way too crowded.
The Empire State BuildingThe Empire State Building
The Empire State Building

No King Kong in sight.
Day View From the Empire State BuildingDay View From the Empire State Building
Day View From the Empire State Building

I am sunburnt by this time.
Night View From the Empire State BuildingNight View From the Empire State Building
Night View From the Empire State Building

I waited 3 hours for it to be evening so that I could see the city at night.


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb