East Coast Summer Trip (New York City) Day 6 2005


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
July 8th 2005
Published: February 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Museum of Natural HistoryMuseum of Natural HistoryMuseum of Natural History

Big Blue, the blue whale dominates this gallery. Its HUGE.
Day 6!

I arrived in New York and after an eventful jaunt to the hostel (a homeless lady gave me a rude tongue lashing on the subway!) The hostel was located on the north end of central park and I was to have my own room. I would hate to share my room with 50 other people! But hostels aren't as bad as I thought they were going to be.

I was able to make it the Museum of Natural History and the Planetarium. Both are a must on any list! There is plenty to see and do at these places. One can actually spend the whole day there and never get bored.

Afterwards I went home and was in bed by 8pm. I didn't want to be out late alone and in a strange town. Plus New Yorkers are crazy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Totem PolesTotem Poles
Totem Poles

You looking at me?
Cave PaintingsCave Paintings
Cave Paintings

Unitl I see some real ones these will have to do for now.
Reading NewspaperReading Newspaper
Reading Newspaper

A skeleton at ease.
Mesoamerican StatueMesoamerican Statue
Mesoamerican Statue

No me digas? Deveras?
Aztec CalendarAztec Calendar
Aztec Calendar

I like the sillouettes of the people in front of the calendar.
Mayan ArtMayan Art
Mayan Art

Very cool finally seeing some art from my spiritual and cultural ancestrey.
Brontosaur!Brontosaur!
Brontosaur!

I am calling all long-necked dinos brontos.
MammothMammoth
Mammoth

The fossil hall had lots of great specimens.


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb