Yep - Still in Beautiful New York City!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
June 24th 2007
Published: June 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A few more sites I wanted to see before I fly on to Washington DC, so I got up super early and hit the streets again. I wandered down to Madison Square Gardens, past the Flatiron Building and Washington Square Park down to Greenwich Village. Near the hospital in Greenwich Village, which is east of the World Trade Centre site, I found an amazing tribute to those lost in 9/11. There is a tiny little corner opposite the hospital where the fence has been filled with ‘Tiles for America.’ There are hundreds of small tiles filling the entire length of the fence, all made by children of New York and all dedicated to all those who didn’t make it. It is such a beautiful little corner, and such a nice way to remember that horrible day.






I also wandered past Magnolia Bakery, which I am sure all our Sex and the City Fans will remember. Unfortunately it was closed so I wasn’t able to enjoy one of there amazing cupcakes. Probably lucky it wasn’t open, as I probably would have wanted to try all of them and not fit through the door on the way out.






To really finish seeing the most amazing city in style, I was lucky enough to get a helicopter ride over Manhattan and the Statue of Liberty. It was sooo cool!! I managed to get some great pics, even though they are a bit blurry as they are though the windows of the helicopter but nevertheless it was fantastic. As we hovered over the city, it was amazing to see all the sites I had walked past and how they all fitted together to form Manhattan. It was the best ending to an amazing weekend in an amazing city. Off to Washington DC now for a short visit before I head to London.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



29th June 2007

The Helicopter Ride
Amazing - wish I was there with you - I would have loved it. You know me and my rides. The pressure is on to take your mother to New York big time ! thanks for that ! Can't wait to see you and give you a big Bugsy hug. Love you.

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb