The Last Billy Joel Concerts


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
September 10th 2023
Published: September 3rd 2023
Edit Blog Post

Has it been a decade already? Billy Joel, the man with two first names, and known as "The Piano Man" is closing his residency at MSG in 2024.

The award-winning artist said he never expected his residency at the venue to last this long. He began performing at the New York arena back in 2014, becoming the Garden's first-ever music franchise. Over the years he has been joined by other big-name artists such as Bruce Springsteen, Miley Cyrus, Elton John, John Mayer and more.

"I'm kind of flabbergasted that it lasted as long as it did. My team tells me that we could continue to sell tickets, but ten years, 150 shows – all right already!," the singer said in a press conference. "To our audience, I want to thank them for coming to our shows for this long. It's hard to end, even at 150 lifetime shows."

Joel accomplished a great deal during his residence at Madison Square Garden —breaking his own record for "most consecutive performances by any artist" and the record for "most lifetime performances by any artist" after his 65th lifetime show.

And guess what? We (Kenbob, Nelly and me) will see him on September 10, after going to the Yankee game that day. I also need to fit Jimmy Fallon in there somewhere as well.

Actually, I saw Billy Joel in concert with Elton John about 20 years ago in Oakland, when they did a world tour together.
Here is what Billy said: "I'm kind of flabbergasted that it lasted as long as it did. My team tells me that we could continue to sell tickets, but ten years, 150 shows - all right already!" Joel said. "I do remember the first time we played Madison Square Garden; it was the pinnacle of my career. I thought, 'My God, I'm headlining Madison Square Garden.' Everybody in the world knows when you play The Garden, it's not just New York. To our audience, I want to thank them for coming to our shows for this long. It's hard to end, even at 150 lifetime shows. I just want to thank everyone for the wonderful thing that's happened here."
If you have never seen him, I would suggest watching one of his concerts or "Piano Man" on You tube. A true American icon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb