The Song Sums It Up for Me!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Bronx
September 11th 2023
Published: September 3rd 2023
Edit Blog Post

You know the tune and the words, sung by the Chairman of the Board: Start spreading the newsI'm leaving todayI want to be a part of itNew York, New YorkThese vagabond shoesThey are longing to strayRight through the very heart of itNew York, New YorkI want to wake up in a cityThat never sleepsAnd find I'm king of the hillTop of the heapThese small town bluesThey are melting awayI'll make a brand new start of itIn old New YorkIf I can make it thereI'll make it anywhereIt's up to youNew York, New YorkNew York, New YorkI want to wake up in a cityThat doesn't sleepAnd find that I'm number oneTop of the listHead of the heapKing of the hillThese little town bluesThey've all melted awayI'm gonna make a brand new start of itIn old New YorkAndIf I can make it thereI'll make it practically anywhereIt's up to youNew York, New YorkNew YorkThrough my working career and subsequent retirement travel, New York generally stays off of my radar. But places like a Broadway show, Carnegie Hall, the Statue of Liberty, Yankee Stadium,, and Times Square should be on most of your "water pail" lists. I was fortunate to see Mr. Sinatra several times, in Tahoe and Vegas. He definitely was Mr. Show Biz, the Chairman of the Board! Why does it not agree with me? Because, as Frank says, the city does not sleep. It is too easy to get swept up by the energy of the city. It is what made New Yorkers so strong on 9-11. Bless their hearts, but the pace just does not fit my comfort zone.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb