Almost There


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Ithaca
March 24th 2009
Published: March 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Yesterday was quite a day! Our show was in a concert hall- complete with a blond floor and white shell walls. We did what we could in the space, but had to adjust some things. When I was getting ready to patch, I set up my desk and was all ready to go, and suddenly the monitor lost signal. I had no idea what happened or how, or how to fix it. Uncle Dave taught me a trick a zillion years ago for when things don’t have signal- start at the source and replace each component until you find the problem. So I did. The VGA cable was hard-wired into the monitor, so I replaced both the cable and the monitor. Then I called the rental company.

Fortunately, Richland isn’t super far away from Raleigh, so a woman from the shop drove up with a new board for me to finish tour with. I knew it would be a while before anyone would show up, so I patched without a monitor, just praying that I wouldn’t make a mistake because I would have no way of knowing where it was made. That way I could get focus done before the desk arrived. It’s a different one than I had, a bit more complex than it, but one I’ve used a few times before. It’ll be fine, but some of the buttons are moved a bit- just the ones like Patch and Setup… While I was on the phone with shops and troubleshooting things, Sarah called focus- and she did a great job.

Today we had a long drive to upstate New York. I enjoyed a 3 hour nap for the first part of the trip, and spend the rest of it finishing my book and starting a new one. It’s a bit chillier up here! We have two more full shows, and one school show, in the States, and a few in Canada, then tour will be over again. And there will be one more goodbye with Kyle, last hugs from the kids, and back to real life.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.355s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb