Very Merry UnBirthday


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Richmond
March 22nd 2009
Published: March 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


My entire life, I LOVED having a summer birthday. Week-long celebrations, parties at the lake or at the pool, I could always have a sleep over on my birthday, regardless of the day of the week… very nice.

But every once in a while I didn’t like it so much. In junior high, they couldn’t decorate my locker- things like that. When I interned, there were 6 interns and 9 staff members during the year. Everyone’s birthday was during the September-June that the internship ran, and everyone’s birthday was in the same month with someone else… except me. So, my friends surprised me (almost) with a wonderful half-birthday party in February.

The same is true on tour. We celebrated Sarah’s, though a few days late (Kyle was there for The Day), and we celebrated Kyle’s last week, and most if not all of the chaperons have had their birthdays on the road, but not me. So, this morning I awoke to a room full of streamers, sticky notes, and an unusual hat. Sarah decided that today is my UnBirthday (see: Alice in Wonderland.)

Around 2 a.m. (shortly after I went to sleep), Sarah snuck into my room and decorated. She was pretty glad that I can sleep through “car bombs” as she put it. I had to laugh when she told me that she was afraid the swishing of the streamers would wake me up. She should know better. There were sticky notes with notes on them all over- even in my shower- and a Mad Hatter hat that she made for me on my extra bed. She also left her computer with a link to the video for the song (
) and a note explaining that the full movie would be arriving in the mail next week, hopefully. Apparently it was supposed to arrive last time, but the mail came a day early. Oh well. When we went to the van, my seat was also decorated with streamers. I had no idea what to expect from then on out. When I wore my hat outside, the kids gave me a boom-cha, it’s what the kids do when they are cheering for someone.

Here’s a difference between me and Sarah: It’s very hard for people to surprise me; I always either find out or piece together enough clues to figure it out, at least in part. But I can plan things with Sarah in the room, or even have her help me plan them, and she’ll still be surprised! So it was good fun.

Before leaving town, we went downtown to see the Liberty Bell. Kyle parallel parked the van into a spot that was approximately 4 feet wide, masterfully, like a pro- and on the wrong side of the road for him, I might add. Then we drove to Richmond, VA. Sleeping and reading.

When I got to my hotel room, there was a box on my extra bed- just exploding with streamers. It had a few more cards and some chocolate. Sarah told me in the car that we could go to a pizza buffet with the kids or go to Red Robin- my choice. Kyle said he wanted Red Robin, and I agreed. Dinner was great. I knew there was probably something else coming after dinner.

Everyone- Stacie, Sharye, Amanda, New Sarah, Craig and the rest of the crew- came over for a party in my room. Stacie made me an Alice in Wonderland coloring book (all that’s missing are the crayons), and the rest of them brought cards.

All in all, it was a great day. I have great friends and will be sad not to be able to celebrate with them again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1138s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb