Camping by the Rio Pueblo, Carson National Forest, Taos, New Mexico Hwy 518


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico
October 3rd 2020
Published: July 25th 2021
Edit Blog Post

I had a nice drive up the Rio Pueblo Canyon in the Carson N Forest SE of Taos, New Mexico. I passed the Comalas pay Campground. In the 1980s I had a wonderful dispersed camp (on a very rough dirt trail) there by the Rio Pueblo, before the pay Campground was made. Now this is a great camp location, with few other campers, and a low National Forest camping fee. There are other nice forest service camp and picnic areas around this area.

I drove past Tres Ritos and found a small bridge over the Rio at the location of my free legal camp. Since I truck camp, I parked in the open near the trees at the Rio Pueblo. It was a very short walk into the trees for a great sit-down, where you can see and hear the sounds of the Rio Pueblo. I spent most of my time (excluding sleep) at this wonderful spot by the Rio.

The next morning I used my propane stove on my metal tailgate (fire safety) to make a batch of arabica coffee. I took my large mug of coffee over to enjoy by the Rio Pueblo. Later I broke camp and drove up the canyon; but I made a stop to check out an interesting old structure by the highway.

I drove on to Las Vegas (NM) and made a stop for gasoline and supplies. I drove SSE on US Hwy 84 for a two day drive back home to East Texas; with one legal camp at a picnic area near Goodnight, Texas.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

NM Hwy 518NM Hwy 518
NM Hwy 518

structure
NM Hwy 518NM Hwy 518
NM Hwy 518

structure
NM Hwy 518NM Hwy 518
NM Hwy 518

structure


Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb