Cabolla Lake to Elephant Butte Lake


Advertisement
Published: March 31st 2019
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


blog 03-30-19 Cabolla Lake to Elephant Butte Lake

Yes, I like camping on or near the water. There are a series of dams on the Rio Grande and 2 of them formed lakes that have become state parks. Elephant Butte is just 25 miles north of Cabolla Lake and a very easy drive. I arrived about 2:30 found my campsite and proceeded to be crazy about leveling. Usually it's the front to back that needs to be leveled but this site was off left to right. That meant that I had to use the boards for the rear duels and it's a little tricky mixing the boards and the blocks. But after several adjustments, in and out of the cab, on and off different number of blocks, I got it. This time I was the entertainment.

After I was all set up and rested for a short time I took Watson for a walk around the loop where we met a family with 3 doxies and a bulldog. Watson wanted to visit the doxies but the bully was having none of that so the lady said she would bring the little ones to visit tomorrow. A play date.

My view is super, it overlooks the lake and the mountains beyond. The elephant butte is on the other side of the lake, can you make it out?

The rest of the evening was relaxing, I'll investigate the park tomorrow. The temp is dropping tonight with the help of the wind so I'll have to button up the camper.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb