Exploring Elephant Butte


Advertisement
Published: April 1st 2019
Edit Blog Post

blog 03-31-19 Exploring Elephant Butte

It was a slow start to the day and after a big breakfast and a walk around the campground, Watson and I took a ride north by way of a sand road. I was extra careful to stay on the well traveled part with stones in it. if you got in the soft sand we'd be calling a tow truck. We saw campers parked right next to the water in their own little piece of heaven. The park lets you dry camp or boon dock anywhere you want to go so some of the spots are very imaginative, thanks to 4 wheel drive monster trucks. Every once in a while there is a port a potty so you have most of the comforts of home. I've included some pictures of the campers.

We walked around for a little while and Watson was thrilled to have sand to run through again. He climbed a rock outcrop so I couldn't resist taking his picture with the wind in his hair.

After we returned home I gathered my laundry and headed off to find the laundromat leaving Watson to have a nap. It was in the town of Truth or Consequences only 4 miles away.

That chore done I came home just in time to secure all flying things because a storm is approaching. It is going to dump snow on the mountains west and north of here and we may get some rain before it's all over tomorrow morning.

Good excuse for an early evening, I'm tired.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.567s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 98; dbt: 0.4487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb