Cooking with Plato


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Santa Fe
October 10th 2013
Published: October 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Plato perches on top of his cage, feathers quivering (and he IS an old bird. A Grey African Parrot.). He is observing me prepare his daily fruit bowl containing no less than 10 different types of chopped up fruit. This is news for me as I was not aware that there were no many different varieties but I think he likes peanuts best and little green peas. He delicately strips of the outer layers , spits them on to the floor and chews up the rest. Plato does quite a lot of spitting food, but he’s old!
Plato enjoys a challenge, his aim being to nip me whilst I feed him. I retaliate by squirting wate very close. Then he whistles and runs around.
Sooooo am house sitting in the middle of nowhere, desert country south of Santa Fe ,home of Art Galleries, the Santa Fe trail, and Native American turquoise -- never thought I’d say it but not another ring or necklace do I want to see!
The place a round Adobe dwelling, very New Mexican , arty, with a kitchen you would not believe and a sports room I have just peeped at and backed away rapidly. It takes about an hour to feed kitties, 2 fish and then all the wild birds (stick to hand in case of rattlers!) Last but not least a sugary cocktail for the hummingbirds, Outside and in, its generally hot and dry , but today has been wet and very windy causing the Albuquerque Balloon Festival balloons to be grounded. Shame as I was hoping for some Hot air spotting.
So instead, have spent the day on the computer trying to sort out where too next, and it really does take me hours! That and baking banana bread which I will share with Plato --if he is good.
The owners packed up trailer with motorbikes ,2 each? hitched it to their Pickup,I would love to drive, and are off to motor bike rally and races in Alabama which they assure me is only 2 days drive away!
I have to admire them.Took me a day and a half (and I just had to stop overnight) to drive down from Denver, a long dusty road but somehow always with plenty to see, horses, llamas , yes llamas, cattle, canyons, deserts and strange wee towns in the middle of nowhere with names like Fairplay and Believe It Or Not.
Still wee buns in comparison to driving to Alabama.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



11th October 2013

Wendy, how did you find this wonderful job?? Does Plato talk? He´s got a sophisticated name... ;o)
11th October 2013

Lovely to hear from you, and to get all your news - am really envious, and think you very enterprsing. Go for it, girl! I look forward to your next blog. Love, as ever. Nonie xxx

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb