Sulphur or Arsenic?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Santa Fe
October 18th 2013
Published: October 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Madam, sulphur or arsenic bath?

Tues saw me headed north for a day out at the Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs. Leaving the main road at Espanola heading another 25 miles alongside the Oriega Mountains turning just south of Abiquiqu following the canyon, I realised I was in Georgia O’Keefe country close to her home at Ghost Ranch. Once again the scenery of the blues and greys of the mountains visually stunning.
There was very little traffic the last 20 or so miles but when I reached my destination I was surprised to find a well developed and busy complex consisting of wonderful Abode type hotel, grounds and the spa buildings themselves.
Within the spa are 10 pools containing different combinations of the 4 types of mineral water that makes the springs so unique: lithia, iron, soda and arsenic.
There is a large colder pool and then lots of smaller pools each holding up to 20 people.
Of course I had to get into each one -- several times having a good old soak and can now tell the difference of water quality between an arscenic and a sulphur pool.
Seemed to be lots of folks about, the pools were meant to be whisper zones, but this is America and New Mexico at that, whispering no go!
I experienced a ‘Ojo Caliente Signature Milagro Relaxation Wrap” a kind of mummy like dry blanket wrap meant to accelerate the release of toxins. It was good -- once I had managed to free one arm -- just in case. Actually I dozed off.
It was a grand day out , soaking in the pools staring up at the blue sky and sandy mountains, and plenty of body therapys as extras if you desire.


Back here am nearing the end of my house sit and have found it all very quietening, have felt myself slowing into the pace here. This morning I drove into Santa Fe and managed to locate the Georgia O’Keefe museum and spent an hour wandering around her works and looking at old photos which I find at least as interesting as the paintings.. I will miss Santa Fe, its sunny plaza lined with turquiose shops! Native Americans selling jewellery and crafts, and music (South American harp) as well as some good jazz and soul -- for this is the south.
But Mexico is calling now and am looking forward to flying south to Oaxaca (pronounced with many h’oghs.)


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb