Home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Deming
February 22nd 2020
Published: February 22nd 2020
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


blog 02-22-20 Home

I left Roswell in a freezing fog not knowing if this was a good move. The gloomy weather of the last 2 days has gotten to me so I would do anything to find the sun. The temp was hovering between 32 and 33 but just 50 miles west the temps were warmer and the sun was shinning. As I drove a little higher in elevation the trees and shrubs were ice coated and there were icicles hanging from the road signs. Oh dear, did I make a mistake...

I slowed and watched for bridges but the ground was not yet frozen so I soldered on. Through the mountain pass there was snow on the hillsides but the fog had lifted so I felt safer. The other side of the mountain the sun was indeed shining and it's warmth felt soooo good.

Way in the distance I could see White Sands Nat'l Monument stretching along the far mountain range. It is so unusual and outstanding against the dark mountains. This area of NM is a very large valley with jagged mountain ranges on each side. The east mt range has a peak, Sierra Blanca Peak, that is just short of 12,000 with the surrounding valley at 3,500 ft so it is a dramatic sight especially coated with snow as it was today. Oh, the shining mountains.

I drove past the sand dunes, which are actually gypson, and ascended the west mountain range at the White Sands Missile Range. Hagerman Air Force Base is just before white sands and this is the testing grounds for their pilots.

On the other side of the mountain is the city of Las Cruses. One must drive through a section of town to hook up with interstate 10 so I suffered through a few traffic lights to hop on 10W for my final leg of the journey.

Less than an hour later I was in Deming at the LowHi Ranch where I would spend the next 18 days. I was home. I really did feel at home and was thrilled to be there. I wanted to buy a house here last year and the feeling is quickly returning. But I will resist the urge and be sensible for a time anyway. I can stay in my camper here if I want to stay until it gets too warm to stand it then be glad I don't have roots.

This ranch is part of the LoWs organization, Loners on Wheels, so most of the people who stay here are single rvers. If you are a member of Lows the price is very reasonable so I'm comfortable to stay a while.

Last night there was a get together with cocktails and hors d'oeuvres, you bring your own and share. There were about 25 people there from all walks of life, mostly retired but not all. We talked and the newcomers introduced themselves and after a time someone wanted everyone to relate a story about the best place they had been. So many interesting stories, so much of this country yet to see. The Tetons were very popular for the best spot as well as most Nat'l Parks. My story was about Great Bend Nat's Park and the blooming desert. So many beautiful and meaningful places how can you choose just one. I got several ideas of places to visit, one on the way from here in AZ called Chiricahua National Monument. Another stamp for my book.

Today the ranch had a craft fair from 10 to 4 with people coming from as far as Silver City 1 1/2 hr north, to sell their wares. Painted shirts, jewelry, weaving, books, wood working art and of course food. Watson and I walked around and visited with everyone to hear their stories and see how they ended up here. One woman was a truck driver along with several other odd jobs but settled here because of the spiritual like mindedness in her community. There was a woman giving Jin Shin Jyutsu treatments, a deep relaxation acupressure. Another selling vegan sandwiches and proclaiming the benefits of eating healthy foods. There was also a woman who did visionary spiritual art. All really interesting.

I sat outside for about an hour listening to the birds until the rain drops felt like needles, time to head in. We are enjoying a peaceful afternoon listening to music and reading a new book I bought today from a man that did research his whole life about the wild west and the gold rush. After just completing the tv series Deadwood (2004-2006) I can't wait to hear another account.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0994s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb