Day Six...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
June 26th 2015
Published: June 26th 2015
Edit Blog Post

...is HOT!!! People live and visit here on purpose?!? I'm working up a sweat just by moving my fingers. Holy cow, the sooner we can get out of here the better. Our handy dandy weather station says it's 117° outside and 100° inside with the AC going full blast and the ceiling fan running to help get the cooler air circulated.

Between Reno and Vegas there wasn't much of anything: civilization, radio reception, cell service. Eventually we did actually see some black donkeys grazing near the wire fence that runs along the highway. We also saw a few springbok-looking animals. Does Nevada have those? Finally started seeing palm trees, but not the pretty tall ones you see on tv. These were really prickly looking. I'd show you a picture, but it's difficult to take pictures of something nearby when you're passing it at 60 miles an hour.

We arrived at the RV park and Mike went in to check us in. He opened his door to get out of the truck and the cool, comfortable goodness of air conditioning was immediately replaced by the blast furnace of Las Vegas. Our site has a token tree that happens to be right outside the window at the head of our bed. Maybe it'll help keep the bedroom cool. Maybe. I'd take a cold shower but we won't have cold water until sometime after the sun goes down. Even then, I'm not holding my breath; the overnight low is forecast to be 91°. To keep somewhat cool we've put a couple wet washrags in the freezer. It helps for a short time. I think I'll have frozen fruit bars for dinner.

Advertisement



27th June 2015

Hot!
Note to self: maybe avoid that route in the summer. Aileen I am really enjoying your posts.
27th June 2015

The first time I went to Phoenix with my parents (August when I was 8 years old), my mother said, "If hell's any hotter than Phoenix, I'd better get on good behavior." It's lovely in the winter but unmercifully hot in the summer!

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0748s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb