Day 4 - Pool, Pirates & Pervs


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
July 15th 2013
Published: July 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We decided that just going to the Strip every day was getting a little mundane, plus Diane had been unwell overnight, so while she and Aidan started the day post breakfast at the pool, I of course went to the gym (stop all sniggering now). Gemma and Tom would have been proud of me, there I was pounding away alone (ahem), happy in the knowledge the first test was in the bag and I had a dip in the pool waiting for me after my cycle and jog.

As it was 39 degrees already, just sitting made you sweat even when you were out of the sun, so leaping in the pool to cool off became de rigueur. Aidan naturally didn't come out for about four hours save to bomb straight back in again. The only thing of real note during the poolside experience was a couple who brought their breakfast outside, went to get a drink and the local sparrows nicked a piece of toast. Bemused bloke returned, thought it had fallen off his plate so just put it back on and ate heartily - should we have told him, nah!

Aidan and I set off early evening to go to the Strip to visit the Treasure Island hotel as it had an outside show at 7pm, which was pirate based from memory of Diane and I trip to Vegas in 2001. So we pounded the streets once again, the homeless note pick of the day was "Hooray for Boobies" with each double O having a dot in. I'm not so sure if this got him more donations, but he seemed happy enough. We saw our old friend dwarf Chewbacca, and he was joined by Spiderman this evening, plus a very special guest Iron Man. Iron Man however was even shorter than Chewy, so as he was so small we christened him Travel Iron Man!

The Pirate show, was more scantily clad ladies than pirates, so well done Treasure Island for catering for the whole family. Many of the men near my vantage point seemed to take more interest than you would have expected. The pyrotechnics nearly burnt off my eyebrows, but I kept my vigil staring at the pirate ship for the duration - the things I do for my son eh!

On our way home, some ugly as sin bloke with a Girls Girls Girls t-shirt on, tried to hand me a card for a promiscuous lady, while I ahd an 11 year old boy in tow. I decided to point out "Hey man, I'm here with a minor you pervert" - he for his part appeared utterly unperturbed. Dinner was at a Hawaiian place called Cheesburger, so I duly ordered a bacon burger and asked them to hold the cheese. You can't dictate to me!!!

Tomorrow is the big 5 hour drive south to San Diego so need a good night sleep, a couple of buds will do the trick methinks. ta ta


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1017.6kb