Day 5 - The drive south Las Vegas to San Diego


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
July 16th 2013
Published: July 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Trepidation day, whilst I have driven in Europe (Italy and Majorca), I've never tried it in the US. At least in Europe they have the good sense to use roundabouts, whilst here we had the grid system, how would I cope?

First up was the rental car, to be picked up at the airport. US rentals is a different beast than in the UK. As I'd already booked online I collected the paperwork and satnav, then headed to the rental car park. I handed said paperwork to the man, who lead me to my car, or I should say a selection of 20 cars, 'take your pick of these buddy', so I did. Mainly Japanese with an odd Kia or Ford in the mix, I selected a black Mitsubishi Gallant and we were on our way.

Now about that grid system, for the 2.5 mins it took to find the interstate it wasn't a problem, then it was multilaned traffic for more than 200 miles south through the Mojave desert and turn left near Los Angeles. Of course I eventually fouled it up 500 yards from the hotel (Hilton naturally), when I turned right and went across to the left hand side of the road, at which point I heard the dulcet tones 'Daddy you're on the wrong side', a quick adjustment and all things were right in the world.

After check in we went to a diner and had dinner plus Apple Pie (so much cinnamon) to die for, which if I carry on driving like the last 500 yards might just be what happens. Tomorrow we head into San Diego and Aidan and Diane pick up their Comic Con badges for Thursday to Sunday. Let the madness begin.....

Today's blog was brought to you in conjunction with usrentacar.co.uk, book your car with all the insurance and pay in great British sterling.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb