Waterslide disaster


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
July 9th 2011
Published: July 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=PvRbtMXTPcU][youtube=f-CAWa9Gw5k]
The fateful waterslideThe fateful waterslideThe fateful waterslide

Looks harmless, doesn't it?
We had a leisurely morning - I got up about 7 a.m., came downstairs and made coffee with Nicky, then worked on the blog.
Nicky had to work in the morning, so Steve and I lounged around with Lisa watching a movie on TV.
After some vacillation, I decided to go swimming with the gang at the Lifetime Athletic complex. Having left my swimsuit at home, I unzipped the legs from my Columbia cargo pants and let them serve as swimwear.
I took my GoPro Hero HD video camera with its waterproof housing, which turned out to be a good decision.
We got there about 11:30 a.m. and the pavement around the pool was already blazing hot to my sensitive, never ever unshod feet.
Steve and I followed Lisa into the pool and tried to shoot hoops with impossibly bouncy swimming pool basketballs.
I made my way over to the waterslide area with the intention of getting some video of Lisa emerging from the huge PVC pipe.
Before I knew it, she had talked me into going down the slide. There are two slides - one open and the other a pipe. Turns out the open slide was not operating, so
Weather reportWeather reportWeather report

The top number (100) is the temperature, the middle number is the barometric pressure and the time is at the bottom. Like they say, it's a dry heat.
my only choice was the claustrophobic (to me) pipe.
With video rolling, I shot down the pipe and exploded out across the water.
Despite the fact that the water was only 3½ feet deep, I was so disoriented (I had the silly notion that I could pull this off without getting my head wet) that I couldn't find my feet, lost track of which way was up and felt like I was floundering in deep water.
Fortunately for me, a teenage lifeguard was standing in the pool a short distance away. He grabbed me by the armpits and pulled me upright, but not before I'd inhaled a little water.
My sunglasses fell off and I lost my right contact lens (Steve later noticed it stuck to my chest.). The lifeguard retrieved my shades.
Turns out, this kind of thing requires the lifeguards to fill out an incident report, so I had to walk on the hot coals of pool pavement into the building and then back to the cool shelter of our umbrella-shaded pool loungers.
Nicky arrived sometime after noon and we all hung out until mid-afternoon. Nicky took off to get her nails done and Steve, Lisa and I
LisaLisaLisa

With her blue swimming goggles.
headed home about 3 p.m.
Then it was off to dinner at the Yard House and then to the Venetian for the Blue Man Group show. Steve managed to score some reasonably priced tickets for himself, Nicky and me.
The show exceeded my expectations, even though I have the BMG DVD and thought I knew what was in store.
After what I gathered was an over-long wait to recover the car from valet parking, we emerged from the parking garage in - rain. Two consecutive nights of rain in Las Vegas in the summer? Amazing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Vegas rainVegas rain
Vegas rain

Driving home from the Blue Man Group in the rain.
Waiting for the carWaiting for the car
Waiting for the car

Venetian valet service was overloaded - 12 minute wait.


Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb