Planning Chaos... Chaotic Planning?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
August 10th 2004
Published: August 10th 2004
Edit Blog Post

For the past few months, I've been getting antsy again. I don't get much time to travel, working two jobs and all, but sometimes you just have to get away for your own sanity. Well, sanity can sometimes be lost just figuring out where to go, at least for me.
First I thought about going back to Japan. I had such a great time in April that I would love to go back. But after thinking about it, I wasn't sure I wanted such an expensive trip this time around. Staying in Tokyo, or even traveling around the countryside is a little pricey.
So then I drooled over Around the World plane tickets, planning out all of these exotic destinations which I knew I could never afford, nor have the time to visit, I just wondered how much it would cost me to maybe just fly over all these countries, and stop for a day or two in each major city. After wiping the drool away, I came to my senses, this too wasn't affordable, and with time constraints, would not be very relaxing... no need to feel like Phileas Fogg or Passepartou.
Then I figured, maybe I should just go home to England. Haven't been back for 5 years, would be nice to spend a little time in the old country, so to speak. The tickets were cheap, and both jobs were cool with the time off. Maybe I could even hop over to Hungry and mooch of my bud Ali for a day or two.
So as I was finalizing my plans in my head, and on my personal blog, one of my friends mentioned he'd been offered a job in Virginia (US). He decided he'd go after it, at which time one of my other friends started planning a moving trip from Seattle to Virginia... a cross country race against time in a truck that will go no faster than 85mph at its best. This trip would cover most of the Northern States of the US, and wind up on the East Coast. This was perfect. Save for Seattle, I'd never traveled through any of those states, and have always wanted to drive across country. What better way to do it than with 2 good friends. Then I'd just take a week off in Virginia, visit Washington DC, maybe drive up to New York, visit some of the old battlefields and stuff... then fly home to Vegas. This should rock. I've booked my flights, got everything ready, the one problem being, my friend doesn't have final confirmation of having the job yet! EEek... I hope it all pans out. If so, you'll be reading about it somewhere around the end of September. I can't wait! I'll just drive across country on my own if I have to, and have a great time doing it! 😊

Advertisement



23rd December 2004

G'day !!
G'day Savage :P Looks like you've had a lot of fun during the last couple of months!! Your Jap trip was very interesting, and surely you've been partying/clubbin' a lot during those couple of days :D I'm planning to go to Japan again with my sister (which will be her very first time visiting the place) at the beginning or mid of January. I don't think I'd like to go with tourist again, they're always in a hurry... I think this time I'd like to travel with friends/family... or alone. So you can read Chinese ? Or did you use those translation softwares? I don't blog in English very much, even though I think in English but when I blog, I blog in Chinese :P (well it really depends). Thank God I don't do that at work, otherwise my fellow nurses and docs will go crazy (I'm a nurse, nice to meet you!) !! :D :D Well, that's all from me. Going to Shanghai for Christmas tomorrow, and Beijing for New Year count down. Okee, that's all from me! Merry Christmas and Happy new year! :-) Tami (Tammy)

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb