Trans Siberian .... best laid plans of ...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Boulder Dam
October 1st 2009
Published: October 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi, this is David Paulsen, you are are listed on the travel blog for David and Barbara Paulsen. I will be traveling to China, Russia, Kazakhstan and Vietnam without Barbara in the Fall and Winter of 2009. If you have been following our travels, Barbara writes the blogs, you may want to click the unsucribe at the bottom of the page. Travelblog asked that we do no delete emails that we don't recognize because there are individuals that have subscribe whom we do not know...

For those of you who hang in there here's the deal. I have wanted to do the Trans Siberian Rail Road for many years and now is my chance. Barbara is teaching two classes at UNLV and this is not a trip she wanted to make. Unfortunately, her writing style will be missed.... plus a number of other things.... My writing tends to be a bit cryptic.

As you may know the web site is intended for individuals to keep in touch with their friends and as a general source of information for others looking to travel in an area. Lacking Barbara's writing skill I will focus on the mechanics and cost of travel. What follows will give you an idea of how dry it going to be.

To start I had planned to use Google , email, docs and Googles Picasa while traveling but have discovered on a google search that that some it not all of the Google packages are blocked in China. As a result I will be doing most of my communication through the travel blog. I have not found any comments by any travelers on the travelblog.com commenting that that they could not access their blogs in any of the countries I am planning to visit. We will see.

My current undertaking is getting my visas in order. What has surprised me is that the Kazakhstan and Vietnamese Embassy are willing to take direct mail for visa applicants; China and Russia, require an intermediate service. Because of the complexity of the Kazak visa form I elected to also use a service for it as well. Visa cost were

Make sense of this if you can .... the table did not copy as expected..... bottom line the same...
will provide link to table if possible....
Country
Visa fee $
Service fee $
Mail $
Total $
China
http://www.mychinavisa.com/
150 express
69+5(credit card fee)=74
18.9(send by usps)+21(fedex return)
=39
263
Russia http://www.gotorussia.com/
131 express
119(incudes mail)
17(send by usps)
267
Kazakhstan
http://www.gotorussia.com/

60 express
85
No charge
145
Vietnam
http://www.vietnamembassy-usa.org/
55 normal
There was a charge for the money order so total does not look right
17+17=34
91
GRAND TOTAL 764

Could have save money if I had planned ahead and not used express.

“Procrastination is the thief of time” (Edward Young English poet (1683 - 1765) apparently lived to be 82 ) and “time is money” (Benjamin Franklin 1706-1790 and he made it to 84) .

Continuing with cost, which should all be in a Google doc spreadsheet... but ….. just in case
Synthetic Down Jacket 90 I could run into cold weather.
Synthetic Down Pants 110 to sleep in if necessary and general comfort.
Synthetic Down Hat 15 it looks stupid; I hope I don't need it.
Just for the cold $205.

Maps, figured I should have them before I arrive. Who know what time it will be, if shops are open, can I get the map in English? You need the map when you get there! $48 China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Vietnam, including shipping.

A business card, name on front and small icons on back ( train, bus food/drink, bed, @
and a computer for emai, ATM & photo, taxi , $$$, $$, $ and thank you in four languages $34. I forgot to put on a symbol to WC, toilet/restroom. Oh shit.

Air fare Las Vegas to Shanghai $536, I leave tomorrow 1 Oct. Las Vegas, Seattle, Inchon Korea, Shanghai.

$1651, so far it looks like “enough money to burn a wet hog” Dave (19xx - xxxx, Don Siebenaler's friend in Calfornia Mo ). And I haven't even left yet.

Barbara will take me to the airport at 07:00... will meet Don and Wanda in Seattle for a layover visit, looking forward to that ... there is a lot to get caught up on.

My main bag is 29 lbs... backpack apx 10 lbs.

Advertisement



1st October 2009

David, I will continue to read your blog and watch your travels. While in Thailand I'm taking the opportunity to travel in SE Asia but will be further south (I HATE the cold)! However, I am very interested in the areas you will be in. I have traveled through Vietnam and found it to be beautiful and the people family. You should find many young people in Vietnam and China who speak English. Good luck and happy travels.
1st October 2009

David, We'll read with interest - since it is not a trip we would probably ever take! But good for you. Take care, be careful, stay warm and enjoy. Did you say how long this trip is going to be?
2nd October 2009

THANKS, David!!!
Thanks for all of the info on here today!!!! Marsha and I will be following your trip, word by word, mile by mile....as we would both like to do the same type of trip without a tour agency. No matter how "cryptic" your writing will be, we will be here to read it, make notes and enjoy our reporting. Keep them coming!!!!! John
2nd October 2009

Have a great trip!
Watch the dates on any bottles of water, etc. you buy! We went to China, on a tour, in 1993. I bet you will see a lot of changes, more cars than bicycles for one. I hope you have good Internet access....we were there before email. I remember the Chinese postcards were beautiful works of photography. Look forward to reading about your adventures. Public restrooms in China smelled awful. Prefered those in restaurants. When we arrived in Shanghai at night there was no place to change money. Had to do it at our hotel. Cab ride to hotel was Mr. Toad's wild ride. Teeny car shut off car at every stop light! Hong Kong prices high, go to Stanley Market on Hong Kong Island for bargains. Take the bus. Get a walking tour book of old Hong Kong on HK Island for a taste of the old shops. Have heard that toilet paper might be hard to find in restrooms in Russia. No problem in china.
6th October 2009

Time adjustment
David, Have you adjusted to the time change yet? That can be difficult given how many hours different your location is from Boulder City. Have you met any fellow travelers yet? Just curious to see how the trip is going? Don
7th October 2009

hope trip is going well.
Barb says she heard from you. just getting ready to go sounds as if it was exciting. looking forward to next installment. do you want me to send you aaron and caitlin's address/email phone in case you get to HaNoi? k
12th October 2009

EZDriver
Waiting fo more blogs.
16th October 2009

mongolia
i will be in vietnam shortly from thai and cambodia and was curious about the logistics of getting into china and then taking a silk road route into central asian...will i be able to obtain visas for those in these countries? how much are the costs in terms of trains or buses to cover the journey? thanks rob
19th October 2009

First time we have accessed your travel blog
Hi Dave, We just returned from 10 days in Japan and Hawaii (my son got married in a Shinto wedding ceremony in Hiroshima on 10/13/09) and am looking forward to reading all of your entries. I noticed that I have five more waiting and will read them later today. I can hardly wait to see how you fare in Kazakhstan and Vietnam. Freda
27th October 2009

the cold
I don't think I could do this in the heat

Tot: 0.301s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb