Long Day of Travel


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri
June 19th 2013
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 38.6276, -90.199

Well, after driving roughly 14 hours, including eating time and a little sightseeing, Alex is now zipped in the tent while I am relaxing with a cold beer, typing this, and feeding Mosquitos. (Yes, I am a nature lover)
Photos will have to be loaded tomorrow when I can get them of the computer.
We left Gainesville, after Alex and I agree that Laran and Bryan tried, for some reason, to acclimate us to the Arctic, instead of Wyoming. Within no time, we saw an armadillo and a deer. No, not together.
Driving through to Atlanta, we stopped to endocrine Alex into the Varsity club. I think those fries could last forever with all that grease.
We made it to the Ga border timely and proceeded through to the Tennessee border. For reasons we still don't know, we saw Welcome to Georgia and Welcome to Tennessee a few times. If we were going in circles, I blame it on the executive navigator in charge, Alex.
The cool mountains were a beautiful change to flat humid Florida. Alex even commented about how green everything was.by this point we watched some movie, no, I didn't peek, that would be dangerous.
We passed through Nashville, then into Kentucky. We stopped for a wonderful dinner consisting of pancakes and French fries. I know, we are working on the healthy stuff. I'm snacking on granola as I type.
Oh, and I must include, the top was down on the jeep and the sun was shining, 😊
On to Illinois. Other than the highway signs that read, Hit a worker, $10000 fine and 14 years in jail (why 14?) not much happened here, except it led to Missouri. Into St. Louis we appeared. Of course we went to the riverfront and admired the great Arch. This is definitely a place to check out when there's more time. We were low on gas and sunlight, so the visit was memorable but brief.
Since we were low on gas, I decided to take us on a world wind tour of everywhere in St. Louis that does not have a gas station until, just before running out of gas, we find a good one.
That brings me to my conclusion of the day.
My wonderful mother, tediously searched for a camp area for us and came up with the rv park we are currently at. Interestingly, the office was not open, and instructions said to pick an rv pad and register in the morning. We decided, since we will be gone before the office opens, to squat here for the night. The tent is up, inflatables inside, sweet dreams...

Advertisement



20th June 2013

I'm glad you guys enjoyed today...There's nothing like putting the rag top down so your hair can blow! lol I'm already starting to have vacation envy and you aren't even there yet :(
20th June 2013

I'm still stuck on the armadillo and deer potential, it could be called a deeradillo. I can't wait for tomorrow's updates, drive safe and watch out for those campers trying to creep in on you two at night!
20th June 2013

I would also like to add that your map on here is an excellent tool to allow me a visual of your path which is much appreciated!
20th June 2013

You sound very chipper after such as long drive. Glad you're having a good time. I am enjoying your updates.
20th June 2013

Wow, deeradillio's are dangerous you know!!!! Have to be very careful. They are the sucker fish of the mountains!!!!!! Glad all is well. RED TICKET!!!!!
20th June 2013

I wish I had received this last night as I would not have Worried about you being kicked out of the camp lolI am glad you are safe and I will follow your trip with vacationenvy as well. This will be a good Geography lesson for some of the
family lol. Stay safe
20th June 2013

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=h3KeJpwC-Jo From your pod buddies =)
21st June 2013

We don't run from bears like little sissies! Just push the weakest person in front of you, :)
21st June 2013

Ha ha, Deerdillow meat is awesome if you can catch them. Problem is, they keep jumping in the air when you get close, then rolling away. Sucker Fish Fresh out.

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb