Travel Day 2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming » Cheyenne
June 20th 2013
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 41.1334, -104.814

So, you know I am writing this, which means at least one of us made it through day two.
The purpose of this blog is not to bore you with every detail for every moment of our travels, but to provide a snapshot of our days for you to understand, imagine, and see what is happening. With that, I will describe to you what we saw in West Missouri, Iowa, and most of Nebraska. Corn, corn, corn, some cows, a poor donkey by a tree who looked so lonely among a group of cows, oh, and corn. That is it, there is nothing more to say.
As for Wyoming, so far, so pretty. Before i proceed to describe how 14 hours of travel through the above mentioned states with the two of us alone in the car did not result in
any missing persons reports or worse, i will regress for a moment to last night and our get- away this morning.
Refer to yesterdays blog to learn how we ended up in a tent at a rv park. Following this mornings predawn activities I am declaring a new travel sport, Sleep and Dash! How did we come up with this new sport? We simply, but very stealth-fully, deflated our beds, rolled up the tent, put the jeep in neutral and rolled out of the camp before anyone could notice we had been there. (a portion of this event has been dramatized for effect)
So what did happen today you ask? We saw corn and cows!! I subjected Alex to my rendition of the 15 minute long version of bye bye miss American pie, we watched two movies (uh I didn't watch, again, that would be dangerous) and Alex morphed into some horrific part human part Tyrannosaur Rex with stubby arms, drooling and making terrifying guttural roaring noises, then passing out on the dash. Sound strange, you should have seen it in person.
We ended up at a camp area in Cheyenne, Wy. Naturally, I offered the lady less than the $20 tent sight fee she wanted, and she graciously declined and offered directions to another camp area. I would say she didn't like my negotiating skills, but when I told her we would stay, (I was afraid there was more corn on the horizon) and went to pay, she said it was on her. I asked why, and she said cause she could.
So there you have it, game number two was born. How long can you travel and sleep for free?

Advertisement



21st June 2013

I would like to see a video of the Tyrannusaurus Alex pillaging the camp during the Dash!
22nd June 2013

Corny write up!
22nd June 2013

They appear to have gone missing after Day 2. Maybe the Children of the Corn was based on a true story!
23rd June 2013

Not nice Dad, we can delete you from the updates if you don't like them.Anthony, we are staying in remote places with no services and while I felt the corn was going to eat us, we got away..
23rd June 2013

Hahahahahahaha I guess she didn't tell you that you weren't allowed to pee before youn paid huh?
23rd June 2013

Great story, great adventure. I happen to like looking at corn while traveling through Nebraska. I don't like to think of children of the corn though, too scary. I would also like a picture of Rex. Take care an be safe.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb