08 Local Tour for Screw Loose Dan


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri
June 29th 2008
Published: July 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

SAMSAMSAM

I think he had too much fun Saturday night. :)
Its been awhile since I wrote in the blog, I am going to try and remedy that. I have been riding alot, so more should be posted pretty quick.

The XL-List had thier annual rally here in KC. Actually it was at Basswood Resort just north of KC. I ran out there on Friday to say Hi and put some faces to the names I see on the list. Screw Loose Dan had not arrived yet but I had a nice conversation with Decman and others. Decmans ride reports are what I loved most about the XL-List, now if we could just get him to start posting them again. I called later in the evening when the weather reports were bad to tell Screw Loose that bad weather was coming, only to find out that it had already hit out there. But he had an interest in going for BBQ or a ride on Sunday if I had the time. I had plenty of time and talked him into staying the night at the house and starting home the next morning. Sunday morning we talked and determined that I would ride out and pick him up at the resort.
Dave Rice Atchison's GravesiteDave Rice Atchison's GravesiteDave Rice Atchison's Gravesite

The original marker it wasn't any taller than 24 inches. He is located in a family section of the graveyard, notice there is no given names on the stone, just family name. They were all like that, except one.

The weather was just great on Sunday for a ride. When I got the rally it was around noon. Everyone left was packing..slowly. I think Saturday night was a long one. I asked Sam to pose with his trike, this picture of Sam kind of says it all.

First stop on our ride was David Rice Atchison's gravesite. I hunted it up earlier in the week for points in my HOG groups "Presidential Race" challenge. It impressed me because it was so small and plain for an past president of the USA, even if he was president for just 1 day. Below is a picture of the original marker, they have placed an additional one at the site, because as you can see only his family name appears on the stone. All the stones in that family section of the graveyard were the same. Dates and family name but no given names.

The gravesite was followed by a visit to the county courthouse, where a statue of him appears and a historical marker telling the story his day long presidency. The courthouse square was blocked off because of a charity motorcycle ride. Its a big one. A bar
Dave Rice Atchison's GravesiteDave Rice Atchison's GravesiteDave Rice Atchison's Gravesite

This is the additional marker that was installed in front of the original stone.
at the square was one of the stops, so the whole square was blocked off for parking. We didn't see the ride come in, we left. But we saw them later.

Next we was off to the James farm, were Frank and Jesse James grew up. Watched the movie, toured the house. Lots of the original furnature and pictures on the wall. As we are leaving Kearney, MO where the James farm is we are held up in traffic because the road is blocked for the charity ride. As Dan said "Its going to be awhile". Lots of bikes, big ride. www.overthenexthill.com

Amelia Earhart's childhood home. The house is nice, but the view is awesome. We didn't get off the bikes, just stopped on the brick street, in the shade and enjoyed the view. It is no wonder she wanted to fly when you see the view from her house. She lived on the top of a cliff that over looked the Missouri River and the valley below.

We made our way to Leavenworth on the KS scenic byway of K73 which is also Amelia Earhart Highway. A photo op in front of Leavenworth Penitentary. A stop
Riverfront Park & Lewis and ClarkRiverfront Park & Lewis and ClarkRiverfront Park & Lewis and Clark

The park commemorates an overnight stay of the L&C expedition. They stayed here because there was a French trading post at the location. Now there is also a Coast Guard station.
at the Riverfront Park for the Lewis and Clark stuff and the Coast Guard Station.

Who'd of thought there would be a CG station in KS? Then a slow ride through the national cemetary in town. I don't know which is sadder, all the hills of gravestones or all the vacant land waiting for gravestones. Dinner at a Mexican place that I was told was good. Then what I call the "Tail of the Geico" which is Hwy 5 from Leavenworth to KC, its part of the old military road that connected Ft Scott to Fort Leavenworth.

A trip around Wyandotte county lake, which is I think 11 miles around, but I know there are 72 changes in direction when you ride around it. If the speed limit wasn't 25 it would be alot more fun. Lots of deer as always. That was the end of the fun riding. It was around 8PM when we left the lake. I think we figured around 160-170 miles for the days tour. We ran by where I work and I went in for about an hour, getting my stuff done so I didn't have to go in on Monday.

The next morning Dan wanted to be up and moving around 8AM and sure enough when I came out of my room and checked on him at 8:10AM he was mostly packed and ready to start strapping stuff on his bike. I enjoyed the conversation while he got ready and decided to ride to Gas Ks and get a quick lunch. Gas is about 85 miles from my house, but it was mostly on the way Dan was heading, mostly south, with only a little west. Dan is heading home to PA.

It was a nice ride to Gas. Bonnies Corner Cafe was open and ready for business. Bonnies is only open from 6AM to 2PM daily so if you want lunch you don't want to dally getting there. We got there about noon and there were a few people there. After a cheeseburger and susy Q's it was time to say good byes. Dan got home safe a few days later.


Advertisement



6th July 2008

Wow, the way you described all the sites and historical places, really makes me want to see them as well. I love history and learning who's who and where its at in each of the states I have lived in. I'm in Arkansas now, but as a child lived in Mo. for awhile. What a great wealth of history there and in Kansas. Hopefully one day, I can view the sites too. Happy to read what a fun time everyone had. Love the photos posted, the one of Sam was funny and like others I have seen of travelers catching a few zzz's on their bikes. Most men seem like they can sleep anywhere. Remarkable story about the gravesite of David Rice Atchison! I never fail to learn something new when I read your blogs. That would be a great question for The Jeopardy Game! Lots of local stories here too of the James brothers and their hideouts in hollows and caves in these parts. Oh but if only the land around us could talk and tell more stories. Thanks Cindy for another mind and thought stirring blog. Ride safe and happy bloggin'.

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb