Getting Ready...or at least kind of


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » St Louis
May 19th 2008
Published: May 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The reality is slowly setting in now. I leave for Cuernevaca, Mexico in 9 days. In 9 days my entire life is going to change. In 9 days nothing is going to be familiar anymore.
It's coming at the perfect time though.I'm at a place in my life where reflection and time to think is crucial. Going to Mexico is the perfect chance for me to really think about my life and where I want to go with it. It's my first chance to really be independent, my first time really travelling alone.
But with the departure date being so close, there's kind of a bittersweet feeling in my stomach. I'm excited, don't get me wrong. I've never worked so hard for something in my entire life, and the oppurtunity is one of those once in a lifetime kind of experiences. I'll be living in another culture, meeting all kinds of new people, and hopefully having the time of my life.
At the same time, it's terrifying to be going somewhere so far away on my own. I won't know anyone where I'm going, I've never travelled in this part of the country before. What if I don't make any friends? What if my spanish skills aren't as good as they need to be? What if the classes are too hard and I fail? I don't do well with failure.
But in the end I think the excitement for this experience triumphs over the fear. I can't wait to get off that plane and experience a whole new culture and meet all kinds of new faces.
I just hope I'm ready for everything!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb