Packing Problems and Preguntas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
May 26th 2008
Published: May 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So last time I went to Mexico was for Spring Break my senior year in high school. The trip was barely over a week long, and of course I checked 2 bags full of clothes as well as crammed another 4 or 5 outfits into my two carry ons. That said, I'm not necessarily a light packer. The way back to the airport on our way home from Puerto Vallarta (keep in mind there was only 3 of us) we had to pay for 2 taxis, one for us and one for all our luggage. While I did wear every single outfit (almost...) that I packed, I also learned a lesson after ending our Spring Break trip with an $80 cab fare that none of us could afford. Pack light.

Not that I really have a choice this time, the program I'm attending only allows 1- yes 1- checked suitcase. 6 weeks, 1 suitcase. This is definetly a challenge for me, but I think I can handle it . If there's anything I've learned from travels past, and even just from moving in and out of my dorm room this semester, it's that no one really NEEDS that many clothes..I've decided based on the content of my closet (and the absence of content in my bank account) to go with a yellow, white and blue color scheme. I have enough clothes in all those colors (that also coordinate quite well with each other) to create a plethora of different outfit combinations that will give the impression that I actually brought for more clothes than I in fact did.

As I finally closed the zipper on my suitcase (not without quite some difficulty might I add) it finally hit me that I'm really leaving. This trip isn't just some distant idea anymore. My bags are packed, my flight is booked, my tuition is paid, and I'm actually headed off to LIVE in Mexico. Unfamiliar faces are going to greet me as I get off my plane in an unfamiliar place speaking an unfamiliar (hopefully not too unfamiliar) language. This time, less than 48 hours from right now, I'll be somewhere totally new. What this cornicopia of unfamiliarity brings I don't know. I guess I'll see soon enough. Until then, I'll try sitting on my suitcase to get it to zip just one more time!
Adios,
Sara

Advertisement



Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0762s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb