Here I Go


Advertisement
Published: May 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So this whole adventure starts TOMORROW! I can't believe I'll actually be in Mexico in less than 24 hours. I figure I might not be able to blog in the first few days while I'm adjusting to my new home, family and culture, so I'm going to include my basic itinereary now, so everyone will have at least a vauge idea of what I'm up to.

May 27, 2008- My plane leaves from CHicago O-Hare at 10:00 tomorrow morning. This means I'll have to drag myself out of bed somewhere around 6 and catch a hotel airport shuttle around 6:30 or 7. I've never actually been to O'Hare so just finding my gate, on top of all that immigration paperwork, should be fairly entertaining.
My plane is scheduled to arrive around 2:10 pm in Mexico City where I meet a person from ITESM at some McDonalds right outside the immigration gate. I've heard the Mexico City airport is a pretty interesting and inceredbly hectic place...so there should be quite a few stories before I even step foot outside the airport
From there I'll meet up with and wait for a few other people who are all in the same exchange program as me and we'll all be leaving for Cuernevaca around 4. My host family (who I still know NOTHING about) is supposed to meet us once we make it into the city

I don't have a lot of details from this point. I know I'll spend this whole week doing all the routine "orientation" type activities. This includes your basic teambuilding, skills testing, city tour type of stuff. I'm actually really excited for all this because it's going to be a really good oppurtunity for me to meet new people and learn about the culture without being bogged down with 6 credit hours worth of homework

Speaking of homework, I should let you guys know just what kind of classes I'm supposed to be taking down here. The first one is the all important Spanish class, I think I'm registered to take a composition course, but it all depends on which level of spanish I test into. I'm also supposed to be taking a class on Poverty and Political Development in Mexico. This is the class I'm most excited about because it focuses on the political,economic and social structure of Mexico and how poverty has developed throughout the nation and what the country plans to do about it. This class also gives me the oppurtunity to get out into the community and do some service work. I'm considering doing some international service work after I graduate (which could be as early as next December) so this is a great oppurtunity to get my feet wet in that particular field.

I start classes the first week in June...so that should be a whole different adventure...especially the one taught completley in Spanish

There's a few different excursions planned throughout the month of June too, but I won't write about those until I decide which ones I'm actually going on....Although I plan on touring Mexico City for sure! It's only about an hour north of the town I'm staying in.

Other than that the only date set in stone is my return on July 10th. But hopefully I'll have a lot more to write about to fill in the spaces.

P.S. Emails (spaf22@umsl.edu or you can leave messages right on here) will be more than appreciated. It's always nice to hear from a familiar face being that I'll be so far away. I'll be posting an address here too for letters and postcards.
My phone SHOULD be working too so you can try and send a text or make a phone call, but I'll update you on the phone situation after I get there and see what's up.
Also if you want postcards and/or letters go ahead and email me your address to make sure that I have it, and I'll be sure to send you at least one while I'm down here

Adios, Hasta Luego

Sara



Advertisement



8th June 2008

ixhdwibcidbc`uvdc`bedgvc`uygihwu
hello hope u had fun in mehico and keep havin fun tel everyone i said hola-jared bonjour!!!! i hope you're having fun speaking spanish in mexico..` i miss you at the pool!!!!:( :( au revoir!!!! jamie-rox/kool-haenni peace out sarah!!!!

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1018.1kb