Yee Haww!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » Kansas City
March 20th 2006
Published: March 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

SuburbiaSuburbiaSuburbia

The Uketui family home is on the right. It's a cute little culdesac where all the neighbours know eachother.
I spent the weekend in the Midwest - Kansas & St Joseph, Missouri with some family friends / distant in-laws. My welcome into the city was somewhat unorthodox. My suitcase missed the flight (although I managed to make it on time...). So on my first night I all I had were my clothes on my back, my trusty camera & wallet. Chi-chi kindly took me to Walmart so I could by some underwear, and preserve some sort of dignity. Praise God the suitcase turned up on Saturday arvo... missing some handles. Aunty Ngozi & Uncle Immanuel made sure that I felt really comfortable in spite of this odd situation. :o)

The weather was really cold, but nothing like a NZ cold though. It felt really crisp and clear. Yesterday it even started to snow a little bit. For some strange reason I had the urge to go for a run right there and then. I resisted that urge however. Hehehehe!

I like the place ay. It has a little bit of the country feel (and they speak with a small country twang), but it’s not over-bearing. I only saw one Cow-boy hat the whole weekend!

St Joe is
HighwayHighwayHighway

SUVs and large water towers. Intriguing!
a small town with approx 100,000 + residents. It honestly felt like every second car is an SUV in that place ay! North of St Joe is Kansas City - the capital city of Missouri. It’s being rebuilt at the moment, and has a cute Art Deco feel to it.

Yesterday evening I was taken to have some real soul food at a gorgeous African American restaurant. Oh my goodness, I’ve been converted!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

GirlsGirls
Girls

Chi chi, myself & Lisa. We were just about to go to dinner in Kansas City.
ItalianoItaliano
Italiano

We all had dinner at a nice Italian restuarant on Saturday. The them is reminded me of Ancient Rome / Pompei
Soul FoodSoul Food
Soul Food

Missippi Deep Fried Catfish, Okra & Tomatos and Candied Yams. Very nice indeed!
Soul Food & MusicSoul Food & Music
Soul Food & Music

There was this gorgeous Grand Piano right where we were having dinner. It was programmed to play some smooth jazz. It all added to the already stunning atmosphere.


20th March 2006

Amazing Kansas
All I know about Kansas is in the song "I'm in love with a wonderful guy" ( you know corny as Kansas in August...) feel so ignorant. You are having a great trip thanks for keeping us up to date! Glad the luggage turned up and returned with you!!
20th March 2006

Looks great
looks like you're having a great time. I thought you would have played the piano!

Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0932s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb