09 Natchez Trace Day 1B


Advertisement
Published: April 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Natchez Trace Day 1


Road side parkRoad side parkRoad side park

I love these swampy areas. I don't know what hold my fasination but it is held by the trees growing out of the water.
This is the first day of 4 day trip I took over Easter, from KC to see the Natchez Trace. Day 1 was divided in to 2 blogs, because my plan changed at the last minute and I had the opportunity ride for a couple hours the night before my trip was supposed to start.

The forecast is for rain and thunderstorms all the way to Little Rock. The thunderstorms were supposed to start in the afternoon, so I was up and gone by daybreak (51F). All my layers on and my rain suit. I was going to be in the rain today. And that is what I had most of the way to Little Rock then it just quit. I went another 60 miles with all the gear on then took off the rain suit and a layer. At that point I started taking pictures, which made the trip more fun. There was a really great public park along the road so I pulled into town and took some pictures. A couple interesting towns along the way was Dumas AR and Transylvania AR. Dumas speaks for its self. Transylvania had a huge bat painted on its water tower. In
Effie at the ParkEffie at the ParkEffie at the Park

This is the park that I stopped at.
LA I stopped to get an ABC’s of touring picture of a parish picture. It warmed up nicely by the end of the day. Supper was a quick run to McDonalds and bringing it back to the hotel. I love going through drive-thrus. The reaction from the clerk as she swirled around to hand me my food was just royal. Vicksburg was 72F. Weather says that we will not have rain tomorrow until 5:30PM I should be long gone by then. This morning the weather channel was saying we were going to have severe thunderstorms tonight in Vicksburg, but the local new just said that we will have a dry night. Go figure. But it is supposed to be 70F in the morning… sweeeeeeeeeeeeeet. It has been so long since I have woken to a day that was above 60F. KC is wet and cold, which makes me enjoy this weather even more. Tomorrows plan is to visit the Vicksburg National Park in the morning, eating lunch at the local award winning BBQ spot called Goldies Trail BBQ. The trace was 62 miles south of Vicksburg is Natchez MS and the start of the trace. Hopefully I would be there
Bad Clouds All DayBad Clouds All DayBad Clouds All Day

Even when it wasn't raining it looked like it could start.
by 2PM and I could start up the trace. Tomorrow night I wanted to find a motel in Tupelo MS, which was about half way up the trace.

Its been 666.6 miles for the trip at the end of Thursday.
Effie's Odometer is 109431 miles, we travelled 535 miles today.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

09ABC ST AR09ABC ST AR
09ABC ST AR

The first ABC's of Touring pictures that I stopped for.
09ABC CI DUMAS AR09ABC CI DUMAS AR
09ABC CI DUMAS AR

Surely they don't pronounce it the way it looks.
09ABC ST LA09ABC ST LA
09ABC ST LA

The last time I got LA for the ABC's it was in the middle of cotton fields.
09ABC CO East Carroll LA09ABC CO East Carroll LA
09ABC CO East Carroll LA

This is the parish sign that I stopped for.


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb