Leaving Biloxi


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Mississippi » Biloxi
February 1st 2008
Published: February 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

So the time has come for another chapter in my life to end and a new one to begin. Today is the day that we leave Bethel, the day that we leave Biloxi and move on…It’s hard to believe that we have been here for 2 months already and our first project is done. Where has the time gone? It has been a great experience all around and I will leave with many happy memories, life skills and new friends. This has been a great learning and growing experience for me as an individual and for me as part of a team. I have learned many construction skills, something that I previously hadn’t had much experience with. I have learned how to spend every waking hour with 12 other people, eating, working, and living together in one place with virtually no fights. We are all sad to leave, but very excited for what is next. I feel the time has come for us to move on.

On Wednesday we were able to dedicate the house that we had been working on since we arrived. It was a neat experience. We had been to dedications before, of houses that we worked
Hockey GameHockey GameHockey Game

night at the seawolves game...
on for a day or two, but it was a different feeling when it was the house that we spent almost all of our time on. Looking at the finished house pointing out all the things that I personally added to it and knowing that even though I will not be there anymore, the work that I did while I was here will last forever. It’s a great feeling knowing that all of my hard work paid off and 1 more family has their house back. The smiles, and tears of happiness that were shed that day made the blisters on my hands and feet, the bruises on my legs, the cuts on my arms and the soreness in my shoulders diminish. There is nothing as powerful as an ear to ear smile.

So what is next??? We will transition down here in the gulf in Jackson Mississippi. We will spend a week in transition, winding down from our first project, doing a lot of paper work, resting, and preparing for our next project in Fort Pierce. After transition we will take 2 days to drive down to Florida and start our new job on February 11. Knowing that we are going into a 4 bedroom house gives us something to look forward to, and as hard as it is to say goodbye to Biloxi we still have each other. What are we going to do in July when we need to move on and each of us goes our separate ways? I can’t even think about it, it makes me sick…

Well to leave on a happy note, we spent last weekend in New Orleans. We had been there a couple times for day trips but never really got to experience the New Orleans way of life. Although it wasn’t Fat Tuesday, Mardi Gras season was in full bloom and there was defiantly much to do there. It was good to experience once in my life and I had a great night there, however, I don’t know if I’d rush back anytime soon.

I hope you enjoy the pictures.

Until next time,
Nicki
:-p


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Pirates AlleyPirates Alley
Pirates Alley

New Orleans
StrangiStrangi
Strangi

The house we dedicated
Gold 4Gold 4
Gold 4

The house we built
Kitchen floorKitchen floor
Kitchen floor

I'm getting good at flooring...
walking to do laundrywalking to do laundry
walking to do laundry

With our marshmallow shooters...


1st February 2008

all the greats
Great Job on the house. Great pictures. Great blog. Great Friends. This is just a great time in your life and I have a feeling that you would agree. God blessthe great Gold Team 4!... All the women at Oasis are praying for you. Love Mom
1st February 2008

congrats
Congratulations on finishing your first spike successfully. I know you have gained so much knowledge spiratually and physically. I'm looking around to see what flooring needs replacing around here so you don't feel left out when you get home - haha. Our thoughts and prayers go with you as you move on. Love, #2 Mom
2nd February 2008

Biloxi Blues
Wasn't there a movie by that name? Hmmm...we might have to Netflix it. Nicki just know that Biloxi is a better place for having known you and Gold 4. You made a difference in people's life's and that is definitely something to be proud of. Enjoy your time of transition and get ready for your next adventure. Love ya, Pops
2nd February 2008

It won't be the same without you there!
I know it won't be the same without you there firsthand! You are missed, loved and treasured each day. A day doesn't go by that I don't think about you. I am so proud of you and so glad that Biloxi was such a great experience for you. Move on, be proud and just enjoy the journey that God is taking you on. God Bless my sweet girl. Love ya, #3 mom
4th February 2008

Turn that in for a grade
Dude, if you were still in school you should turn that blog in for a grade. It was very well written! It shows that you're writing about a subject you actually care about lol. You're gonna have an awesome time in Florida...I'm so excited for you. GOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLD! :-D

Tot: 1.345s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 1.1844s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb