Fort Pierce Florida in February is Fantastic, Fabulous, and FUN!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Vero Beach
February 17th 2008
Published: February 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

To start this entry, I will recap my day for you, to paint a picture of this wonderful dream world I am living in. (Take note: it is Sunday)
Sunday February 17, 2008. At 10am, it was in the high 70’s outside, William, Brittany and I headed about 4 miles east to go to the beach. William and my intent were to boogie board with our new boards that we purchased yesterday, so we were hoping for some waves. The beach was empty when we arrived; except for a couple beach walkers we had the beach to ourselves. In the distance we saw the lifeguard stand which was flying a yellow and purple flag. Yellow means swim with caution and stay close to shore, and purple means that marine pests are present. It wasn’t double red, which means DON’T swim, so we took our boards out. William has been a lifeguard for 8 years, I figure if anything bad were to happen he’d be the guy I’d want boarding with me, foolish? maybe, but its not every day that one can go to the beach, especially in February. The beach in February is a new concept to me. We stayed at the beach for about 2 hours riding waves, catching some really good ones that forcefully took us ashore. It was wonderful! Well, until the last ride, when something stung/bit me. I'm still not sure what it was but it hurt for a while, but after a couple hours the pain and rash diminished and I am back to “normal”. We left the beach and headed home, straight for the pool where the rest of the gang was, by this time it was probably up in the 80’s outside. I sat by the pool, swam a little, played some catch with the football, ate lunch, swam some more, played marco polo and had swim races. By 3pm I was beat, so I came in showered and took a 2hour nap. Tonight is pizza night for dinner, we got hi-speed internet at our house yesterday and my birthday is on Thursday. COULD LIFE GET ANY BETTER?

Our days usually aren’t that leisurely though. We do actually work while we are here, and work hard might I add. Monday through Friday we are working with an organization called INTACT. We are doing hurricane mitigation work, installing hurricane shutters for low income families. I love the job because I get to work outside on a daily basis.

It’s a great feeling knowing that we are helping people prevent damage to their homes in the event of a hurricane. It makes me really appreciative that I was raised/live in New York where we don’t have that fear of losing our houses to a hurricane lingering over us. So far, this job has been less physically demanding than Habitat was, yet equally as rewarding.

The house we are living in is growing on me. The first day here we had to clean it up a bit but I can proudly call it “Home.” It comfortably fits the 13 of us. I am sharing a room with 2 other people. I have my own bed, just a mattress on the floor, but it works. Our living room has 6 couches and 1 chair, which prevents fighting over seats. There are a washer and dryer in the garage, and although they are very old and incredibly loud they work and we don’t have to hike to the Laundromat every Sunday. Downtown Fort Pierce is quaint and cute. They have a lot of activities going on at night during the week. The fact that it is February is very baffling to me. I feel like it’s July. Living in the house has caused a little more drama on the team, but we are still very tight. William is a lot, or at least appears, happier and he’s smiling a lot more this SPIKE, which makes us all a little more happy.

So if you’re feeling jealous/ angered that I am having fun in the sun and you’re all trapped up north with the snow, relax, we can solve that problem very easily, come visit me and you too can have fun in the sun, see me and meet my team. My address here is:
2801 Avenue F
Fort Pierce FL 34397.
(That also works for mail *wink*)


OH yeah, I forgot to add a very important part of my journey to the blog. On our way from Jackson Mississippi to Fort Pierce we got to stop and spend the night in Tallahassee, ironic, I think not, it was actually a planned trip. It was awesome, we got to meet up with Uncle Bob and Aunt Becky and they came out to dinner with us. I was very excited that they got to meet my team and learn about the people that I am with all the time and the team absolutely loved meeting them as well.

I haven’t really taken any pictures, but I promise I will and add them to the next blog.

Talk to you later,
Nicki


Advertisement



18th February 2008

sounds amazing
sounds amazing. i'll be coming to live with you guys shortly. i can sleep on a couch. :-D

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb