What Should I Title My Blog?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Mississippi » Biloxi
January 15th 2008
Published: January 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

TyvekingTyvekingTyveking

on the roof
So it’s been an exciting couple of days...
Well, I made it back to Biloxi after spending some time at home for the holidays. It was great to come back to a place that we were familiar with and to see my team after our time apart. Since we’ve been back I’ve been doing numerous tasks at work the past couple weeks. I have tyveked a house, fire blocked, installed doors, windows and a floor and made window frames. Construction is very hard work and I admire people who do this for a living. I don’t know if I could last more than 8 weeks. Heck, if I wasn’t a volunteer, I probably would have been fired a while ago. Its not that I don’t try, I try very hard; I just don’t have the perfection/patience/skill that it takes to do this.

Moving on, let’s talk about something more exciting. Last night Bart, our project manager, who is also an Air Force retiree, arranged a special presentation for my team at Keesler Air Force Base about the Hurricane Hunters. It was quite amazing and very intriguing. It definitely made me consider dropping out of AmeriCorps and joining the Air Force.
in the raftersin the raftersin the rafters

it looks like my top is disconnected from my bottom.
Fortunately my common sense got a better hold of me and told me that if indeed this is something that I am interested in, I should wait until AmeriCorps is over and then go from there. Incase you are like me and haven’t heard of Hurricane Hunters before yesterday, they are the pilots that fly airplanes through hurricanes. That would be pretty cool to do for a living. We got to go for a tour in the plane (on ground), stand on the run way and watch a video on what they do. It was definitely a great experience.

And today we found out where we are going for our next project. Yay! It’s so exciting. My team is going to Fort Pierce Florida; south eastern Florida. We don’t really know much about what we will be doing or the area yet as William just found out this morning where we are going. But I guess we will have a 4 bedroom, 3 bathroom house with a pool, all to ourselves. We are very excited.

We will be staying in Biloxi until January 31. From there we will have a week transition period somewhere in the gulf, they are not sure yet. Then we will start our new job in February sometime. Maybe I can spend my birthday at the beach this year. I don’t think that’s ever happened before.

Until next time.
Nicki



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



16th January 2008

Hi Nicole
I love reading about your adventure all that you do. I am so proud of you Nicole. You and your teams our in my prayers.
16th January 2008

great pictures
It is awesome to see the pictures of you doing some of the jobs you have had to do. It helps it live. Your writing of your experiences is awesome too and I look forward to reading everything. Pretty spoiled though going to a place with a pool and multi bathrooms. I thought you were supposed to be roughing it all the 10 months. haha Keep in touch. Love and prayers and best wishes - Other Mom
16th January 2008

We are excited!
Hi Nicki... We are excited that you are coming to Florida. Maybe the Speakers and the Binghams can come and see you. We are on the west side of Florida! I love the Air Force idea. It goes with your adventurous spirit! Love your, Linda
16th January 2008

cool
Hi Nicki: Well you look like your on top of the world. We are in Florida until Apr. I hope that we can connect when you go to Fort Priece. how exciting for all of your team.proud of you we are. (Yoda)
17th January 2008

Your too cool for words
Wow! Some great pictures the split body, cool safety goggles, hot working gloves. Nice job on the floor. And well the eyes and huge smiles near the army planes makes me think there might be more adventure ahead. I am glad to hear you have a good head on your shoulders to wait until Americorp is done. Never know what doors of opportunity it will open for you. Looks like you will be in for some more adventure in Florida...your just across the state from Al and Linda sounds like a trip to starbucks with Mr. B ! Do they have starbucks in Ft. Pierce? Keep on having fun and dreaming dreams its just another way God directs your paths! Love ya, Girl..... Mom
17th January 2008

Camp Hope
Are you SURE you don't want to come to Camp Hope with me? haha.
19th January 2008

liven your dream
Hey its fun watching you living your dream but I'm kinda using it to fill part of my own dream - great pics, always working - you will come back with mus-kels.

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1164s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb