Made It-Better Late Than Never


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » UP
December 7th 2009
Published: December 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, my 10:00 AM departure estimate was off by 2 hours. I got going about noon. I'm getting ever lazier in the morning. 460 miles later, I'm in Twin Lakes. There's about 14" of snow on the ground and they're calling for more every day. They also have a winter storm forecast for Tuesday/Wednesday, expecting at least a foot of snow in that.

I listened to almost all of Charles Kuralt's book after listening to the Bears game-WOO-HOO; Bears actually win a game! Listening to Charles Kuralt, I was once again reminded how travel is so much about the people you meet. I made up my mind that I'm going to take even more time to talk to more people on this trip. I've ridden the snow machines an awful lot of miles over the years and I don't need to set mileage records any more so I'm going to make it my goal to slow down and bs with more of the local folks.

I arrived about 9:00 PM Eastern and was too tired to even think about unloading the sleds. I'll do that tomorrow AM and check out how the riding is. Hopefully, I'll post a couple pictures, too.

Advertisement



7th December 2009

true Alaskan
Snow Machine,sled, you're starting to sound like a true Alaskan Bob. With that in mind,you know you can fly here about as quickly as you can drive to your snow machine spot! I could sure show you some scenery around here. Have a blast Bob Howard
7th December 2009

Have a safe time and thanks for the travel blog. Rich
7th December 2009

True Alaskan
Hi Howard, Last week I was checking air fares to Anchorage for this week. If they didn't get the snow here in the Keweenaw, I was seriously considering heading your way. Is there somewhere I can rent a snow machine near you if I come?

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb