day 9 - boston, ma


Advertisement
Published: May 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Temperature: 27 degrees, sunny then rain

Today was abit of a struggle again to get up. With the combination of very little sleep over the last week and a fair amount of alcohol last night I, and a few others were in a bad way.
We were up at 7:50am though as showers needed to be had and so did breakfast before we had to be on the bus at
8:30am to go out for our group photo. I managed to have my first taste of vegemite since I've been here, on a bagel of all things. It wasn't bad but it wasn't the goodness of the plain white unsweetened toast that can be found at home.
We got on the bus and made our way to a brilliant spot to have our group photo taken, unfortunately there was a few people that didn't make it on the bus so now they aren't in the photo either.
After this, they dropped us into Boston city for a free day. Mary and I had already booked a thing called a 'Duck Tour' which is where they take you on tour of the city and then the bus turns into a boat and you go on the water. Apparently these vehicles they used were some that were used in D-Day (I believe I heard that in my periods of falling asleep on it!) As bumpy and as loud as it was I was so ridiculously tired I kept nodding off but I did get to see most of the city.
After this, Mary and I caught the train out to Harvard University to check that out. It was so big, we took some photos and moved on kind of quickly though as college is out for the summer and the original plan of sneaking into a lecture had fallen though because of this.
Mary wasn't feeling so well so after purchasing our Harvard jumpers I left her and went to catch the train out to Fenway Park.
I had to catch 4 different trains to get out there and was worried I wasn't going to make it back for the 4:30pm bus pickup.
The Boston Red Sox were actually playing tonight so there was a lot of people around when I got out there. I took some photos, bought a Red Sox t shirt (which is now my top for tomorrow) and made my way back through the crowd to the station to catch another 2 trains.
I made it back to meet Mary in well enough time so I quickly got something to eat then the rest of the group slowly gathered under the tree waiting for the bus as it had, by this point, started raining.
Jerry pulled up in the coach at about 4:25 just before it started to get even heavier.
We all went back to our rooms and decided that even though it was only night 2 of Contiki we were absolutely exhausted and couldn't be bothered making the $35 cab ride back into town (as I mentioned, we are a fair way out here)
So we decided to chill for a bit then about 10 of us made our way 5 minutes down the road to 'Hooters' for dinner. It was quite good.
After this we were going to get some drinks and just have them back at the hotel but there was no where within walking distance so we all just ended up chilling in the common area chatting, looking up our next destination of Quebec City and playing UNO.
I decided to put some washing on in between as at least something was getting done. The numbers dwindled and there was just me and 2 others left playing cards while we watched the end of the Lakers game on T.V.
We've quite gotten into the sports over here now that all the finals are on, the atmosphere is really cool. I ended up heading to bed just after 2:30am when my washing and drying finished. So much for an early night.


Advertisement



30th May 2010

Sounds like your having a frickin fun time, and i know your sick if me saying this but im still sooooo jealous! lovin the blogs, keep them up and cant wait to hear whats next. Take care xo
30th May 2010

Ah ha! I've always wondered what the D in D-Day stood for! Now I know! Duck! lol
1st June 2010

Soooo jealous your having so much fun and im stuck at boring work!!!!!!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb