Farewell Boston!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
June 19th 2008
Published: June 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, here it is - my very last update from the state of Massachusetts and potentially from the USA altogether. Today (Thursday, 6/19), I depart for Washington DC one last time in order to pay a visit to my brother and all of his friends. As I was telling my mom the other day, the planning for this weekend reminds me of one of my birthdays when I was a kid; I think it was my 10th. I had slept in or taken a nap or something that day and when I woke up, my brother was wearing a birthday hat and had decorated the entire living room, and to boot, he was, somehow, WAY more excited about my birthday than I was! It's moments like these that keep coming back to me in waves and remind me just how long ago my childhood seems.

Following this weekend, I will spend 5 days in Colorado with my parents, extended family and long-lost friends from high school and beyond. All of these visits have one purpose: closure.

I've been wandering around campus these last few days trying to make a point to sit down for awhile with my "important people." This, too, has the purpose of closure, but it's also important to me in my mind that I get the chance to tell them that they ARE my important people. As I was saying to one of them yesterday, there's nothing like your own departure to force you and everyone around you to say really nice things to each other... maybe leaving actually DOES bring out the best in people.

Anyway, I now have a mere 19 hours remaining in Boston... and I get the great pleasure of spending it packing and cleaning up this mess of an apartment that seems to have exploded.

But, to any of my subscribers/readers that happen to be in Boston - thank you... thank you... thank you for everything that I am now and for everything that I have yet to become. I would not be here today embarking out into the world with this much courage (or maybe it's insanity... hmm...) without the INCREDIBLE support structure that you all have been. Thank you!!!

Advertisement



26th June 2008

bummed
Hey Jessi! I am so bummed I didn't get to say goodbye before you left! Wishing you nothing but the best in your travels! I look forward to keeping up with what you're doing through this site.

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 54; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb