When Life Happens, It REALLY Happens


Advertisement
Published: May 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Granja do Ulmeiro

The site of my volunteer project in Portugal in August. Honestly, it's pretty difficult to map the exact location, but I do know (thanks to Google maps) that it is on the outskirts of a little town called Soure.

As July creeps closer and closer, my future plans keep evolving and, dare I say, exploding into something of a dream world that is SOMEHOW coming true. All of those things that people do that you hear about and go, "wow... those people are really doing something with their lives..." are things that I am finding myself stumbling upon as wide-open opportunities.

While trying to figure out what the HECK I am going to do with myself between July 25-August ???, I was just trying to figure out some cost-effective options that would keep me busy and active. It dawned on me, at some point, that volunteering might be an option. There are TONS of volunteering opportunities everywhere from Burma to Cambodia and Ghana... but then also throughout Europe in the developed areas - just as there are throughout the US. However, who knew that most companies want you to pay as much as $3000 for a month-long VOLUNTEERING program... insane! But, while I was still toying with this idea, I stumbled upon CADIP - a volunteer organization based out of Canada whose fees are significantly lower. And, after doing some research, asking lots of questions and, of course, running the idea past my parents - I went ahead and signed up. They recommended choosing multiple placements to guarantee a spot, so I capped out and chose 8... anyway... by the time this post airs officially next week, I'll have results for you!! So, I'll be sure to tack that on here when that happens!!


---All right!! It's official!!! I was just accepted into a volunteer program with the Association Action for Justice and Peace whose aims include “Constructing Peace, Democracy, Justice and Equal Opportunities for Women and Men” involving young people, women, local communities and other disfavored population as especially acting forces. My tasks will include working with teens and youth to develop global understanding and promote humanitarian activism!!! All along the same lines that I'm already on! Anyway, the program, ready for this??, is in Granja do Ulmeiro, Portugal. The program takes place from August 4 - August 18, which is perfect timing for my move to Austria.

More to come!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.359s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.2739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb