Still in Boston!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
August 5th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, August 4, 2007


I guess the time went by and I did not update this too regularly, now I leave in 5 days!

So Molly and I went to camp and had an absolute blast. We headed to Elizabeth’s first and spent the night there with her and as always had a great visit. Thursday we drove to camp. Tod & Nancy were to meet us at 3:30 at the landing. We did our usual shopping and got to the landing and waited a bit. George Jr. was there too and they were putting new boat cleats on the docks. Alicia and her kids and grandkid were there swimming. Molly got in too to swim. We knew Jimmy was to arrive too sometime but not sure when, sure enough when we were already to take off he drove up! The ride up to camp was great, we were the only ones there that night. George Jr. was making a bell pull for Dad’s bell, he wove the whole thing and put a six-pointed star at the bottom, he thought that was fitting and it turned out beautifully.

Molly & I made our beds in the front room of the Rabbit Warren and went swimming. The new screened in porch by the kitchen is wonderful and keeps most of the bugs out. Nancy put up a hummingbird feeder and we enjoyed watching the territorial spats they were having. Nighttime arrived and Molly and I headed to bed, but we were not alone, a couple of bats joined us in the room! Molly told me to get out and I went to get Jimmy while she tried to get them out. Together they got them out. We proceeded to get ready for bed and they returned. That was enough for me so Molly and I headed up to the bunkroom and slept there instead.

On Friday more family arrived, Molly & I moved to the bridal chamber so Aunt Nancy could have the bottom bunk. That worked well for us, I’d never slept there before. And there were no bats! Big Beach was calling us and so we went swimming there, or was that on Thursday? Did we go kayaking on Friday? The days do tend to run together… On Friday night I made Yemenite chicken soup for everyone, did not have all the right ingredients but it was still good. It was fun to cook for everyone; I do enjoy that! Before going to bed we made banana porridge!!! A huge amount was made with Aunt Barbara directing and the rest of us adding in our bananas, raisins and oats. It seems that we all had the same idea, as there was an abundance of the ingredients. I for one think this a good tradition to make it on Friday night to eat before the meeting! Of course Nancy told us the story of introducing David to this wonderful dish…

Saturday came and still more family arrived, we figured to have lunch then the meeting which went well and the family picture on the steps. Much of the family left afterwards but we still had a full house that night. We did not play our usual games, Pounce but Nancy, Tod, George Jr. & Molly taught me to play poker! We used pasta for chips, fun! And guess what? Molly is a good player…and she bluffs well, as George Jr. found out! ☺

Unfortunately on Sunday we had to leave to head back to Boston as I was signed up for the weather class at the Boston Museum of Science beginning on Monday. Before leaving George Jr. took Molly and me out for a sail in his sailboat. What a way to be on the water! Too bad we did not have more time as both Molly & I want to learn to sail now. We stopped on the way for lobster, which was fabulous!

On a very rainy and thundering Monday I had to get up early to return the rental car, the red Ford Focus- a perfectly nice car, oh and Jimmy’s rental car was exactly the same but ours had a sunroof! After returning the car I got on the train and went to the museum.

The week of class went quickly and I have a new respect for the weather people! I learned a lot and met some very nice people. We will try to stay in touch and have our classes email and talk back and forth.

Molly & I watched a few more movies, “Paris, Je T’aime” and today, “Becoming Jane” both good movies. Molly has to work the next few evenings at Bluestone pizza but has the days free. Jimmy is coming to stay with us
CampCampCamp

trying to get a signal on the cell in the middle of the lake!
for a couple of nights before heading back to Alaska a day before me.




Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

CampCamp
Camp

Elan & Frank are missing, hence the bunny ears in their place!
CampCamp
Camp

Dallin found the mushroom for Molly to draw on and add to the collection!


6th August 2007

wonderfull pictuers, sand me more plaese, be safe

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb