The Pursuit of Knowledge


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland
August 8th 2006
Published: August 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Studyin'Studyin'Studyin'

My head is spinning!
Of course, I can’t totally blow off my responsibilities while I’m on vacation. I will have to come back to work eventually, and really don’t want to work door security for the rest of my career, so I’m studying up to join my friends in the RC. Of course they’ve got very high standards, so I’m trying to cram my head full of all the grammar and editing information I can find. In my studies, I came across this tidbit of grammar information that I’d love to share:

THOUGH, ALTHOUGH AND EVEN THOUGH

Though, although and even though are used to show a contrast between two
clauses:

Our new neighbors are quite nice (this is good) though their two dogs bark
all day long. (this isn't good)

We can use though or although with no difference in meaning. But, some
differences are:

Though is more common than although in conversation or writing.

Though (but not although) can come at the end of a sentence.

Though (but not although) can be used as an adverb.


Advertisement



20th August 2006

Although....
Spot, I truly admire your dedication. And I stand corrected on the "though versus although" debate. I must point out, in my defense, THOUGH, that way back in my day, "though" was used in casual writing while "although" was considered to be more formal/professional. And the journalism professors would dock you a full grade if you used "though" in a story assignment, so that one was pound into my head. Since you are clearly using the newer versions of style manuals, I can only assume that this is more evidence of the gradual decline of the English language. (Sigh.) But it's not your fault. I commend your efforts. Keep up your studies, and keep in touch! Everyone in the office is following your travels closely--and for some of us desk-bound types, vicariously! Love and hugs, Diane
28th August 2006

Language
uhnh? It's all about the dumbing-down of education. So be careful Spot, you might get too educated and then be over-qualified for the job. And Diane...blame it on computers, i. e. spellcheck. Happy Trails, Spot. Your admirer, Lucinda

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb