A Traveling Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine » Bar Harbor
September 12th 2013
Published: July 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 44.3875, -68.2044

I have thought many times about taking a trip to Acadia National Park. The descriptions of the craggy coasts, gently sloping mountains and friendly people have long appealed to me. So this year I am finally here! Today was a whole day of traveling so not much to report on other than some observations about various points in my day.

Boston's Logan Airport and getting out of it is a challenge that is not for the faint of heart. Now I was here last year and I don't recall the airport itself being a problem. But this time there was construction and traffic backups. And then trying to stay on the right road to get to the interstate I wanted was like doing a logic puzzle. I wanted to go north on I-95. Apparently to get there you needed to attempt to follow Hwy 1 as it weirdly changes numbers and has signs that are either not there or come up at the last minute. This is also made more challenging by the ridiculous drivers that inhabit the East Coast. I managed to solve the puzzle and find the interstate with no scratches to the car and only minimal swearing!These new cars with push button starts require a PhD in something in order to get them to turn on. Hertz should have an instructional card sitting on the front seat explaining how to turn on your vehicle. Otherwise, the Chevy Cruze I have is way nicer than I was expecting considering the cheap class of car I chose. It actually has cruise control, power windows and locks and tells you what the temperature is in the car.
Although I do not like leather seats!New Hampshire is a tiny state at the point where I-95 crosses through. There is a $2 toll, a few exits and then you are in Maine.Maine seems beautiful to drive through, just not when there is rain and lightening. Makes it harder to look out for the moose that may or may not decide to cross the interstate. Also, the service plazas along the turnpike are actually pretty nice. I stopped at one and it was clean, had a Burger King, Popeyes, Starbucks and fresh food choices like salads and fruit.I am spending my evenings at the Acadia Pines Motel. Their website is: http://www.acadiapinesmotel.com/. The lady at the front desk was very nice and pointed out a lobster place across the street and a BBQ place next door that has breakfast. I will look forward to seeing the place in the daytime and finding some breakfast at Mainely Meat BBQ!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb