Day 43 - French Quarter, New Orleans


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Louisiana » New Orleans
October 24th 2011
Published: October 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After a good night's sleep, it was another two mile hike to the next hostel, where I'd be staying for two days.

This hostel was pretty interesting. It was called India House. Fancily decorated, and containing a swimming pool. This was a relaxing place. I think I'll enjoy it here.

I relaxed for a bit, and had a swim in the pool. I then had a chat with a young English couple that came by the pool, younger than me in fact, and we shared our stories, itinerary and all else there is to share with common travellers.

I then took street car, or tram if you will, into the French Quarter of town.

I tried some Cajun and creole, what New Orleans is famous for. Expensive, but good stuff. It's what you definitely have to try when you're down here.

You've also got to try a Hand Grenade drink. I was recommended to try it by another traveller, and I don't think I regret it. One drink of it, and I was drunk. It's said to be the most powerful drink in New Orleans. It tasted good too, much like an energy drink.

I walked back to the hostel and watched a few movies with some of the guests, and that was that.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0837s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb