Day 42 - New Orleans, Louisiana


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Louisiana » New Orleans
October 23rd 2011
Published: October 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This time, lack of sleep has really done it for me. I was dead tired as I hopped off the bus, barely able to keep my eyes open. I suppose it's because of the hour breaks in between two bus stops during the night, where I couldn't just continue sleeping on the bus. I was able to lie down with my legs across the seats, though. Weren't too many people on board - I guess trips aren't popular at night.

When I got to New Orleans at 5:30am, it was still dark, and the crescent moon was shining up above between the buildings. It was a pretty sight. I liked it here already. And the first thing I noticed as I was walking along the streets, was that every passerby was saying hello to me. Must be a New Orleans thing.

I hiked for two miles to my hostel, but I couldn't get it. I had to wait for about an hour and a bit before someone opened the door - one of the guests, and I just put myself in the common room and slept on the couch for a while.

I then checked in. I had a much needed rest, then finally decided to head out into the city to see some sights at around 5pm. I'm liking this city. It's different, it's pretty, and it reminds me slightly of Portland. I don't know why. Probably the neighbourhoods.

I walked along Bourbon Street, one of the main touristy streets with all the bars, clubs and restaurants lined up. There were crowds of people going through here, and there was loud music playing, with karaoke singing to be heard and strip dancers visible through the windows. Yes, a very lively place this one, the people of New Orleans sure know how to throw a party!

By nightfall I was still walking through, but I headed back to my hostel shortly after buying some food from the grocery store and since I should be fully recovered from my sleep pattern by tomorrow, I'll dedicate much more time to walking around. There's some good stuff to do here apparently. And I'm also going to need to change hostels. I had booked one night here, and two in another.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb