Day 41 - Huntsville, Alabama


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama
October 22nd 2011
Published: October 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Most of today was spent travelling. I was scheduled to depart for New Orleans, although I wouldn’t get there until tomorrow morning. So I thought it would be a good idea to stop by Huntsville to see one of my friends from the internet, called Will.

I left my hostel in Nashville at 7:30am and made for my bus leaving at 8. It would be a two-hour ride to Huntsville. I stopped in Athens and grabbed a cheeseburger. Yes, Athens in Alabama, not Greece.
Once I got to Huntsville, I contacted Will and he came to pick me up in his car. Good to meet him; another one who I’ve known for quite a long time over the internet. About four or so years.

The first place we went to was the Space Centre. I knew there was a Saturn rocket here. Apparently it was the real Saturn V, but I’m skeptical. The space museum was pretty cool though; we tried some rock climbing, and had a ride on the Martian simulator. Among that, we saw other fascinating stuff. I grabbed some food while I was here as well.

Will then drove me back to the bus station. We didn’t have that much more time to hang out, as he had to go to work, but it was fun and we had a great time. He had never met an Australian either. And I swear his mother has got to be the most paranoid mother I’ve heard of. You could say she was slightly worried about her son meeting someone over the internet, but I guess you get that with a lot of mothers. I’ve met plenty of people from the internet and I can’t say I’ve had any freak problems.

Until 6:30pm I would have to wait for my bus to New Orleans. It would be a boring wait, but I think I’m used to long waits. A sparrow that got itself trapped inside the bus station made things a little more interesting - it was trying to fly out but kept on hitting the windows.

I managed to grab hold of it and took it outside to be free. Just a little something worth noting.

From here on it would be another overnight bus journey with little sleep.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb