The Greater St Stephens Baptist Church


Advertisement
Published: July 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Sorry about the delay here but my computer picked up a virus that rendered it inoperable for the last 2 weeks.

Anyway, while I was in New Orleans, one of my goals was to go to a Southern Baptist Church service. On the Saturday I met a wonderful man by the name of Preston Hunter who cut my hair. While Peter and I were getting our hair cut ( more about that later), I asked nPreston about Church. Well, as luck would have it he was a member of the chior at Greater St Stephans Baptist Church. What were we to do with such God moments so we went.

We were treated so well from the moment we walked in the door. As a guest, we were welcomed, introduced, taken to our seat in the auditorium, hosted, welcomed by the Bishop from the pulpit/stage, asked to stand up and be acknowledged and then taken to meet the Bishop after Church. One of Nathan's friends, Lamarcus Smith, joined us for the first time at Church and was quite blown away by the experience.

The auditorium was enormous and would have seated, at a guess about 5,000 plus people.

The singing and worship was truely amazing and was well worth the effort to go. You can buy cds of the Gospel singers. The cd I purchased is called "Bishop Paul S Morton presents the : Full Gospel Baptist Church Fellowship Mass Choir" , Cry your last tear.

The standard of dress of the congregation was awsome with most men dressed in impressive expensive suits and the women, well, amazing is all I can say.

When I work out how to get the photos off my phone I will post it!

Another thing I can cross off my "Bucket List"

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb