the music of the streets


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Louisiana » New Orleans
August 1st 2005
Published: August 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

A while has passed since last i wrote, and I apologise for my lazyness. Much can be said, as much has been experienced during the passing month and a half. However, many of my experiences have been rather inexplainable and I have had feelings inside me that I feel deifficult to describe.
Since last I wrote I went to the lovely islands of Fiji. Beautiful with it's white sand, azur clear blue water and friendly people greeting me "bula" and offering me cava, the traditional drink made from a root. Although expensive, I found myself enjoying the quaint islands and the laidback, easygoing people. But island hopping can only be done in a certain amount, and 10 days later I was ready to hop on the plane that took me from Nadi airport to Los Angeles, USA.
Having a rather difficult time in LA, and not really appreciating the plastic- fantastic mentality, I moved onto San Francisco, only to have a whole new world open up to me. I found a hostel in the alternative, and very gay area called the Haight. Having found my niche and some of the best people I've ever met, I decided to stay a bit longer than intended. 2 weeks later I made my way over to Arizona to meet up with my friend Michelle in her hometown, Flagstaff. After spending a couple of days lazying around and seeing the spectacular v iews of the Grand Canyon, one of the seven wonders of the world, me and Michelle moved on to Las Vegas for a girl's weekend out. After being offered a job at the hostel I was staying (which I kindly declined), I caught the flight to New Orleans, Louisiana. Having experienced the dry heat that LV has, I though NO would be a walk in the clouds. How wrong was I- NO is a hot and humid place that makes you long for even the hottest of the Santa Ana winds!!
After a couple of days in this town, experiencing the southern hospitality, creole cuisine and the musical vibe that is the corner stone of this city, I found myself falling in love! Not only with this city, but with a certain someone as well. So now I find myself in an awefull predicament, trying to figure out if I should follow my head- or my heart!! Well, I am heading up to Canada tomorrow to meet up with some friends. Will let you all know what path I intend to take......as soon as I figure it out myself! 😉
Till then- have a lovely summer!
x Eva

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb