Freefaaaaaaalllllll


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
June 10th 2005
Published: June 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

getting startedgetting startedgetting started

before the jump
WOW, WHAT A RUSH!!! Jumping out of an airplane at 12000 feet might not be your everyday thing, but it sure gets your blood pumping!!!! In Taupo on the north island of New Zealand right now. It's supposed to be one of the cheapest and best places in the world to go skydiving, and so I decided to go for it! I must admit I was petrified at first, and had many-a- sleepless nights worrying about it, something abnormal about jumping out of a plane, right? But hey I survived it....and it was amazing, I tell you that! 😉 Definitely worth it, but don't know if I'll do it again!

I realise I haven't been any good with writing travelblogs lately, so I'll give you a brief update. I arrive into Queenstown, the south island of New Zealand on the 21st May. First night at my hostel my money was nicked from a girl in our room, so I wasn't really in for a good start. But I met some amazing people and soon forgot about the little theft incident and focused on all the positive things that lie ahead. First thing's first- I had to get myself some nice, warm, woolly clothes. So off to the nearest Salvation Army I went. Got myself some nice warm scarfs, jumpers and gloves all at a bargain! Aaaaahhhhh....I was starting to feel like myself again! (you know you're doing alright when you go shopping, hehehe!)

After a few days in Queenstown I headed over to Millford Sound for a day, where I enjoyed the spectacular nature and scenery of the fjords. Then I headed up north with a girl called Siobhan, and her van which we named "Peggy" (well, I named it because I thought it was a suitable name for a van, hehe!) Peggy broke down in Wanaka, so we spent the day there before heading up north to Fox Glacier and Franz Josef. We conveniently parked Peggy in the parking lot of our friend's hostel, and slept in the van for two nights while using the facilities of the hostel. Sneaky, I know, but cheap! 😉 Did a glacier walk in Fox for half a day, and then moved on up crossing the Southern Alpes to get to Christchurch. Here I was dropped off as Siobhan was heading up to the north island. I stayed in Christchurch for about
aaaargghhhhhaaaargghhhhhaaaargghhhhh

Not a very flattering picture, but skydiving rocks, hell yeah!!!!
a week, and I must say I love that city! It is built on the old churches and architecture of Cambridge, and it has a genuine cosy atmosphere to it! Also, I got a bit of a cold when I was there, so I was curing myself by staying in one place and not mving around too much!

Met a guy from Southampton called Pete, and we got along so well, we decided to rent a car together and travel up north. We passed and stopped in places like Hamner Springs, Kaikoura, Blenheim, Nelson, Abel Tasman (which is a national park), Picton, annd then yesterday we arrived in Taupo from Wellington where we stayed for 5 days. The only reason we stayed in Wellington that long (because there is really nothing to do there!) is because I needed to get my tattoo sorted! I finally had the pettern and everything sorted yesterday and I now have a maori tattoo on my back! Will show a picture of it as soon as I get the chance!

So that's about it....in a nutshell! Moving on up to Rotorua and Auckland before heading over to Fiji next Saturday. Can't wait for that....and to show off my new tattoo, hehe!

Take care my lovelies!

x Eva



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Peggy the vanPeggy the van
Peggy the van

and me and Siobhan
Glacier walkingGlacier walking
Glacier walking

Me and Siobhan


16th June 2005

hej! Har du alltså hoppat fallskärm? Eller är skydiving något annat? Ser himla härligt ut i alla fall fast jag hade också varit superrädd....de andra bilderna från Nya Zeeland ser också häftiga ut..det är kallt där nu eller? Hur länge har du kvar av resan nu? kram evaliz

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb