The landscape calms down


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Paducah
August 14th 2014
Published: June 25th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 37.0857, -88.5959

Today was another travel day. We left Topeka at 8:15 and 70 degrees and headed east once again. The drive took us across the rest of Kansas, and Kansas City (Sharon I was thinking about you), through the lower part of Illinois, and into Kentucky. We crossed the Mississippi River in St. Louis when we crossed into Illinois, and a few miles later, the Ohio River, when we crossed from Illinois into Kentucky. The Ohio River continues a short distance further before it dumps into the Mississippi. We landed in Paducah, KY for the night at one of our favorite hotel chains, the Drury.

Beamer was quite bored for the second day in a row. He slept all day yesterday, stood guard duty all night and slept all day again today. I guess we will be well protected again tonight. There was little to see. It seems always to be the case, once we are headed to, and after we have crossed, the Mississippi River. Tourist attractions, the naturally occurring kind that we love so much, are few and far between on the east side. There is nothing, and I mean nothing, like the Rocky Mountains and the deserts of Utah, Colorado and Arizona. These are our favorite places to visit.

So, today we saw more corn fields, but a lot of trees and the terrain was quite a bit more hilly. I have to admit, I was spending more time talking to Steve and less time observing the landscape. We have seen it all many times before. I only have a few photos today and they are quite lame. But I will post them anyway.

We drove through St. Louis and I tried my darnedest to get another photo of the arch, but I failed. The highway put us on the lower level of the bridge crossing the Mississippi and I could not get a good look at the arch or the river. I have taken photos of both before, even climbed to the top of the arch, but today was not the day for more photos.

Tomorrow we drive to Atlanta and another Drury Hotel. They know how to make you feel good. Free cocktails, wine, beer and food in the lobby, and fresh hot pop corn all day and all evening…just go down to the lobby and help yourself. The rooms are cushy, too.

Tomorrow, we drive south to Atlanta and another Drury.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



15th August 2014

Wish I had known you were going thru Kansas City.....could have gotten you a free meal with my brother in law & his wife. They are most welcoming to our friends. So, you know why we moved to Florida!

Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb