07 St Pat's Parade with the HOG Group


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas
March 12th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

In The Staging AreaIn The Staging AreaIn The Staging Area

This is just the bikes in front of me in the parking line up. Like a fool I didn't turn around and take a picture of the bike behind me in the line. I was toward the front of the line.
The morning started early as I remembered to 'spring forward' with the clocks last night. My cold from the last few days is still kicking my butt, but I had to get out today and ride some. This is just my luck the weather finally warms up and I have my 1st cold in 2 years. Effie, my 2005 883 Low Harley Davidson Sportster was just as eager to go for a ride, as she got moving much faster than I had.

The HOG group was to meet up at the Central HD Shawnee KS store at 10AM leave at 10:30 or 11 to go to the staging area for the Merriam, KS St Patricks Day Parade. I missed it last year because they were predicting severe thunderstorms and hail last year. There were those that were more motivated than me that showed up though.

It was 47F when I left the house. I was the 4th bike to show up at the dealership. Once I got there and was milling around I realized I had a chill that I could not get rid of. Cold isn't normally an issue for me. I ride in the cold and have proper gear that I know will keep me warm, I have been known to ride all the way down to 19F, and still smile.

My favorite part of any group ride is the fellowship and socializing that happens as the riders gather. I discussed sporties with another sporty rider, Patriot Guard with a few Patriot Guard riders. Gary Palmer showed me his new saddle bags (Sweeeeet), and mustang seat. Although Gary was not all that excited about the new saddle, it seems his wife Cindy is more impressed with her increased comfort level. Anyway the Parade didn't start until 1PM so I had lots of time for chatting both here at the dealership before we left and at the staging area later.

Okay, so we show up at the staging area and find out that we are too big to fit in the area we were alloted. Soooo we go up this residental side street that has ditches and no curbs. The long line of bikes proceed to make u-turns so we can park on this side street heading the other direction.

I thought I was going to have a rider for the parade. A young boy who has been captivated by motorcycles since he saw his Grandpa's. Well he doesn't get a chance to see Grandpa's motorcycle anymore so I had asked his mom if he could ride the parade with my HOG group. But she got nervous as he is a little hyper at times.

A bunch of us filtered down to Margaretta's (spelling?) for breakfast burritos. Lots of time for socializing and decorating.

The Parade is all of 3 blocks long. So 15 minutes and it was over. Kind of an anti-climax. But the fellowship was great and its always great to see the group together.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb