RIHLA #18


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois
February 15th 2012
Published: February 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Part One (The Interview):

1. Name of Interviewee:

Jewel Brewer



2. Relationship to Interviewee:

I interviewed my mother.



3. Decade of Choice: (The person should choose one decade from their life to refer to)

1960s



4. Describe the environment in which you lived for that decade.

I lived in a middle class neighborhood in Chicago's west side. It wasn't necessarily the safest neighborhood, but my parents insured that my younger siblings and I were well taken care of and protected.



5. What major activities did you participate in?

During this time I was in elementary school.



6. What were the major social issues of that decade?

The Civil Rights Movement was taking place. There was a lot of tension in the United States at this point in our history. All across the nation there were people fighting for the educational, economic, and social equality. Though there were people in support of this movement, there were many others who strongly opposed equal rights in our country.

7. What was the biggest turning point for you during that decade? Why?

April 4, 1968 is a day that i still clearly remember in my mind almost 44 years later. This was the day Martin Luther King, Jr. was killed, and though I was only 7 at this time, I still remember the day so clearly. I was a second grader, and I remember that my mother always told me not to switch clothes with my friends at school; of course I never listened, but this was one day I should have. It was lunch time, and I was ahving lunch at my friend's house when the news that MLK was killed came out. I remember being so afraid because there was chaos everywhere and as a little girl all I wanted to do was go home to my parents.

Part Two (Your Reflection):

1. In your own words, do you think that location has influenced this person’s actions? If so, explain.

I do feel that growing up in a middle class area affected my mother's actions. When you are in a place where you don't feel 100%!s(MISSING)afe you learn to be more cautious and observant. You also learn to improvise when you may not have access to all of the high quality thing in life or luxaries.

2. Do you think your location within the last decade of your life has influenced your actions? Explain.

I definately feel that my location has affected my actions. Similar to the way my mother grew up, the area I live in is not one of the safest. As a result, I feel that I am very cautious. Though I don't feel that being cautious is necessarily a bad thing, I feel that it may become a bit strenuous when it is necessary to constantly look over my shoulder as a result of where I live.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0955s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb