Finally In Maui


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Maui » Lahaina
October 18th 2014
Published: October 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

My 9.30am flight to Brisbane was non eventful and arrived on time. My bag was checked through to Honolulu, so said a prayer that it got on the plane as I did. By the time I got to the International terminal and through all the customs and security I had about 50 min before boarding.

I sat next to a couple of ladies in their 60's, they were a scream, my neighbour had not flown more that 3 hours before so she was dreading 9.5 hours. Honolulu won't know what hit it when they arrive, they are going to have a ball.

Slept on and off over the night. We had to take a detour around tropical storm Ana which made the flight a little longer and bumpier towards the end. As the sun started to come up there was the most magnificent cloud formations out my window. It looked like we were going though a maze of cloud caves, and then when the sunrise hit them it was just amazing. It actually felt a privilege to be up there amongst the heavens.

The first view of Hawaii was incredible. The volcano tops were shrouded in cloud and it looked very magical. So many waterways, lush vegetation alternating to none on the volcanic lava rocks. There were some open cut mines coming in as well, I'll have to check what they mine here. The runway was on the edge of the sea so you could see the waves as you landed.

Customs is a whole new level in USA, fingerprints are taken as well as photo and much yelling of customs officers on where to go. A bit overwhelming, but once through I was extremely relieved to see my back waiting for me on the other side. Then again through more customs and x-rays, then off to try and find where I check in for my flight to Maui. Decided a few more signs were warranted, but after many questions, suitcase falling down the escalator and nearly taking out an air hostess, I found my way and deposited said suitcase ready to get on another plane.

The humidity hit you like a brick when you step out of the terminal, just like in Bali, you forget how encompassing it is. Even the locals on Maui are complaining about the humidity because of Ana, so I don't feel like a total wimp.

Another 40 min small and bumpy plane ride and finally I'm in Maui. Next step Car!

I must say I am so over queues by this stage. But at the end of another queue and in the rain I find my car, load my bags then work out the GPS and take a deep breath, many prayers to my angels and St Christopher and I put the "shift" in drive and off. Pulled out of the park on wrong side of road, quick correction and off I went. Gerald my GPS has a guided tour installed so when I went past significant landmarks I would get info and folk law about it.

Drove past many beaches that were flooded with surfers out on there boards, everyone seems to drive a dual cab 4WD ute thing over here with a surfboard in it. Found Old Lahaina House, thanks Gerald, Checked in and promptly had a hours sleep. My Luau was cancelled tonight due to the weather so have rebooked for tomorrow night.

It rained fairly steadily all afternoon but stopped enough to walk down Front St and have a orientation look see. Found a nice seafood restaurant to have and early dinner. First dinner on my own in a restaurant, a bit weird, but didn't take my kindle, sat and enjoyed the atmosphere, and watched the Stand Up Paddleboard (SUP) guys out there surfing the waves. Also paid my first tip, that was easy it was printed on the bill and you could choose which one you wanted to give 15%, 18% or 20%.

Stopped on the way back to get some fruit and yogurt for breakfast and got my shopping in a brown paper bag, just like they do in American movies!

Home now for shower and bed and to get into this time zone.

Advertisement



19th October 2014

Well done!
You are one brave lady!!! I admire you sooooooooo much Miss Robyn. Hope you weren't left with inky fingers!!!! And yes, you were so blessed with the cloud formations. I can watch clouds for ages and see all sorts of weird and wonderful things. Looking forward to the next instalment. Have a great day - Love Margaret
19th October 2014

Thanks
Hi Marg, nice to get your comments, thank you, it made my morning. Keep them coming.
19th October 2014

Everything
Robyn what an interesting blog! See I told you car parks are the worst to pull out of!! Great reading enjoy!
20th October 2014

Car parks
Yes I did have a giggle to myself when I read your comment on facebook, after the incident. Have done much better today!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb