I Entered United states.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Atlanta » Midtown
July 28th 2006
Published: August 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

My flight landed at Newark (New Jersey) airport at 3 am in the morning. Now it was time for immigration check we were ready with our immigration form filled in. We entered immigration counter and there were separate line for residents and non residents. It was my turn now. The lady who was having an immigration check entered my last name and her computer hanged it was because my last name is very common in US UK as well as in India its Singh (Sardar Insan nahin gadha hai 😊).But I m happy with this comment because I m not a sardar I m Rajpoot. So at last her system got a check of mine and she gave me an immigration for 3 months. Then it was our turn to get our luggage and load it for the next flight. But unfortunately a trolley was for 3$ we did not had changed. We were roaming for change. The smallest denomination that I had was 5$. We searched a lot then after I saw somebody entering his credit card so we used my credit card as well. Now we checked in our luggage for the next flight now it was time to go all alone for me as Surya and others have to take a flight for BaltiMore. I moved ahead with my cabin baggage somebody told me that I have to catch an airtrain to go to my terminal. It was C1. I went to airtrain platform It was more like Metro in India but had a door in platform as well as in train so was more safe (No One can commit suicide there :-)).I took that and went to my terminal and noticed that the srcurity check their was even worse than that for International. I have to take off my purse,belt shoe to get scanned by Xray scanner. Now I was at my terminal seeing various white and black people but at this point of time I was really jetlagged my flight was at 8 and it was still 5:30 or 6 i dont know the time as I was not carrying a watch and in the last two yrs this was the first time I missed my watch as I was not carrying a mobile as well.after a long wait I got my flight decide to sleep fortunately a black guy exchanged his seat and gave me a window seat. I slept for around 15 mins by that time they were serving muffins and juice. Unwillingly I have to get up and have something but then I noticed out of the window the view was really Nice.so I did not sleep any more. We reached Atlanta airport 20 mins before schedule so did not had proper landing setup. There were no stairs (I dont know what to call these tunnels) connected to get off the flight. we waited for around 10 mins and then we got off. I took the airtrain to baggage claim area as soon as i reached there I noticed a very smart black guy dressed really sensibly (In India I have seen only CEOs and marketing guys dressing that sensibly)standing with a CIENA logo in his hand I got to know that he is waiting for me. I picked up my luggage he helped me in carrying my luggage. He was amazed to see my luggage then he realized that its something for 3 months. He guided me to a lincon parked at parking area. It was the first time i was sitting in a left habd drive vehicle. It was all different for me. The guy was real gentle man we had some nice talk on the way and then he dropped me to Residence Inn. The hotel where I was supposed to stay. I checked in inside the hotel the hotel attenden Sarah (real pretty lady) guided me to my Suite with a Gift basket that Ciena has left for me. It was friday and I was thinking of going to office but had no courage so decided to sleep. and had a sound 5 hrs sleep got up when other Ciena guys (Abhishek, Amit and Saif) who were staying in the same hotel called me up to know if I reached safely. We had some time tohether and then went to swimming pool. We had a good time there and then cooked food and I slept again...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb